My Reviews (122)

Linguine Prawn Scampi

This is a quick and easy scampi pasta recipe with the bright assertive flavours of parsley and lemon juice. You won't need any sides at all!
Reviews (122)


14 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: Plastic
Simple shrimp recipes are the best. This one is great as is and even simpler if you just cook to shrimp in a skillet. I'd melt the butter, add the garlic, then the shrimp, then toss in the parsley and finally add the cooked pasta to the pan. You could also add a cup of wine or some breadcrumbs if you wanted. To lighten it up, use less butter!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: POOHMOM2
Wow. Made this tonite - lots of woofing and slurping. This recipe is definitely gourmet restaurant quality. I made just a few adjustments: I used 1/3 c of butter and 1/3 c of extra virgin olive oil and sauteed 1/2 of a large shallot (chopped) until tender in a large skillet on top of the stove. THEN, I added the garlic (6 cloves - do not brown), shrimp, lemon juice, parsley and 1 1/2 tsp of sea salt. At the end, I added a half a can of chicken broth to make more sauce. The broth really cut the oil and rounded out the flavor,leaving plenty of juice for the pasta to soak up. I used angel hair pasta instead of linguini. Just wonderful.....After the pasta was eaten, we dunked our focaccia bread in the extra sauce....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2002
Reviewed by: caliboo
I made it in a skillet instead of the oven and substituted olive oil for some of the butter, and added a splash of white wine--very good!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: COURTNEYGRIFF
QUICK, EASY and GOOD! I hate it when people totally change a recipe, but here I go....1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup chicken stock (to make sure all the pasta got coated with sauce), SIX cloves of garlic (and should have used 2 more), juice from 1 whole lemon, a small shake of red pepper flakes and most of a bottle of capers (These are the key!!). This is a DELICIOUS base from which to jump! Thank you for such a good, quick and very satisfying recipe! My husband had 3rds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Acookfromdallas
I have made this recipe many times and think I have tweaked it to perfection. I cut the butter to 1/2 cup and add a 1/3 cup olive oil and 1/3 cup chicken broth. Double the lemon juice and add capers and some parmesan cheese at the end. Use angel hair pasta. This stuff is great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: dapen
Great easy recipe but giving it a 4 due to the changes I felt necessary. Made a few adaptations because of the fat content. Used 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, a touch of chicken broth and about 1/4 cup white wine. Using good quality EVOO and white wine make all the difference. Also, for flavouring added a few shakes of red chili pepper flakes, juice from a whole lemon, about double the asked for amount of parsley and 5 garlic cloves. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Shak
It was really good i liked....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2004
Reviewed by: CHATNOIR
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it is a really good start. You have to add and subtract to make it really tangy and not greasy, which shrimp scampi should be. The 3/4 cup butter is way too much. I used 1/2 cup and the pasta could still stand to lose another 1/4 cup. My pasta was swimming in butter and I used 16 ounces of pasta rather than the 12 ounces listed in the recipe. I also added double the lemon juice and crushed red pepper flakes to give it some heat. I liked baking the shrimp, it added a nice flavor. I'll be making this often. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Eileen Lee
This meets all three of my criteria - easy, fast, and delicious! Per other reviews, I made some adjustments. I used 1/4 cup each of butter, olive oil, and white wime instead of 3/4 cup butter. Still, the pasta was a little dry, so I will increase the amounts a little bit next time. I also added some red pepper flakes, extra garlic, and some chopped up scallions. This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: RAZJO
This Recipe was very Tasty and Quick and Easy to make!! I did tone down the garlic a little, I used 2 cloves instead of 4, that seemed to be enough with out it being to garlicky, I also added some parmesan cheese. I will make this recipe again! Thanks for a good one!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes