My Reviews (16)

Spicy Treacle Scones

A traditional recipe for rich treacle scones. These make a lovely change for a weekend breakfast or a special morning tea.
Reviews (16)


16 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: imnohomebaker
Great recipe, really easy, quick, and tasted great
 
12 May 2012
Reviewed by: rooman
Made this with the kids for mothers day. very easy and nice. Only thing we had to use extra flour for the dough. came up very nice..
 
12 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: ReinerHarbers
I just took them out of the oven 15 min ago and they taste great
 
Comment:
16 Mar 2009
dannyboy said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I remember my granny making these but the mixture didn't look dark enough so I doubled the treacle amount.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
07 May 2006
Reviewed by: KEZ
I thought these were good. Although I did find the dough a little hard to work with. Had these with jam and cream. Much the best way to eat scones. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: dannyboy
I tweaked this recipe to have more treacle ...I'm glad i did. They tasted great, and really do only need to cook for 10 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 May 2010
Reviewed by: Erimess
I have to agree with the other review on one point: the dough was hard to handle. That's because it was VERY dry and I kept having pieces fall off while kneading it that would just never stick. I made it exactly as is (using the molasses option since I have no treacle). This wasn't from over-mixing or over-cooking or anything - the dough was never "soft" and was just plain dry, as though there were too much flour. Consequently they came out very heavy. I've never thought of scones as being like one of our light & fluffy biscuits, but they aren't heavy like this either. The *flavor* was good when fresh from the oven (with or without butter/jam), but after cooling off they were just like a big lump with no flavor at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: suestipestalker
Very tasty, unfortunately I didn't read the review which said they didn't need 12 mins so some of mine were a bit caught. I'll try doubling the treacle too next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
01 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Mootheevilboffin
Tasted lovely. Followed the suggestion to add more treacle
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: GHL
Followed the recipe exactly... let's just say they were very interesting. Not my type of thing
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes