My Reviews (21)

Mediterranean Flat bread

This is a flat bread that is widely eaten in the Eastern Mediterranean called 'lepinja.' It has a muffin-like texture and is a usual accompaniment to the sausages known as cavapcici.
Reviews (21)


02 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Vesna Gaddy
Let me start with saying I've never tried this recipe, but being Croatian and growing up with this food, I can maybe offer an insight in why some people had issues with it. Lepinja is a traditional "bread" served with chevapcici, which is a minced sheep meat or beef meat (never pork) and it's origin is in Bosnia. Submitter has the ingredients right and has described the making process very well. However, you need to preheat your oven to as high as it will go prior to putting lepinja's in. Also, separate dough into flat rounds. You can make a ball and flatten it... Very hot oven will make the lepinja "split" and puff in the middle, making it easy to cut it open.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Sharon Angel
We loved this. I used my bread machine & after second rising I punched it down & rolled it into a big rectangle, like you would for pizza dough. I let it rise about 45 minutes & baked as directed. When it cooled we were able to cut it into 4 inch squares & carefully split it apart. It makes great pita like pockets or sandwich thins. Today we are splitting the whole thing for a pizza crust. Thank you for the great idea. ~~=^..^=
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: BigShotsMom
I'm the submitter and I want to clarify the baked loaf is somewhere between a pita and a focaccia. It is fluffier than pita, but you should be able to open a pocket. My friend served it stuffed with spiced pork called cevapcici. She won't part with that recipe though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Dokis
I am Croatian, and this is peaty much same recipe my grandmother use to make, but like your frien she never mesured anything. Hope where you live there are Croatian food stores, because here in Canada they carry seasonigs for chevapi and recipe is on the back. It's for 2 1/3 lb of pork or beef, sometimes I mix both kinds together add 1egg, some 1/2 and 1/2 cream, 1/4 cup of Italian seasoned bread crumbs and mix it all together by hand by kneading it gently until it forms a not to firm ball. Let it reast for about 1h in a fridge, take it out and take a handfull of mixture and form littel sausage roll, continue till all mixture is used up, BBQ. If you can't get seasoning mix; buy fine garlic powder, sea salt and finely ground black pepper and mix it, aproximatly 1/3 of each. Use 1 oz of mix for as above. Good luck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: IslandExile
We have been out of work for a while, and I make this nearly every week - out back on the grill in summer (between 1 and 4 min per side, depending on how hot the grill is) and in the oven (broiling at 500+ nearly as briefly) in winter. I roll it a little flatter -1/4 inch and it makes the most amazing, magazine photo-worthy pizzas, wraps, pita sandwiches etc. and I look amazing instead of poor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: FrackFamily5
If it was supposed to split like a pita-I did something wrong... mine did not split- at all. BUT that wasn't what I was looking for anyhow. :D It was flat yet had some fluffiness. Much like a foccacia or naan yet COMPLETELY different. This was pretty darn good. Split the white flour with whole wheat flour. perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Big Al
Fantastic! I used bread flour and it turned out fantastic (although probably a bit chewier than intended), and added a pinch of savory, as I intended to make a gyro-style burgers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Wendy
very goood, and similar to baking bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Lisa Villont
really delicious bread with a good yeasty flavor. We made the cevapcici recipe and ate them together with cucumber yogurt and sliced tomatoes and onions. Great meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Linda T
MMmmm, I am typing this with my mouthful of bread. Really delicious. Makes a nice chewy crust. I did find I needed more flour before the first rise to get the dough to clear the sides of the bowl. No biggie. This would be great with some herbs kneaded in or some kosher salt on top as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes