My Reviews (148)

Easy Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

A delicious classic lemon and poppy seed loaf. You can also use the batter to make muffins. Perfect as a mid afternoon snack with tea or coffee.
Reviews (148)


12 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: SMAUTE
This is delicious! Very nice lemon flavor. I cut the butter down to a 1/2 Cup and increased the yogurt to 1 Cup, and it still came out moist. I've been looking for a good lemon poppy recipe, and this does it for me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Laila
Like other members, I also cut the butter down to half a cup and upped the yogurt to one cup. Though I baked this in two round cake tins. When they were cool, I spread a lemon glaze (1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, zest of one lemon, 3-4 tablespoons lemon juice and a little water) over the top of the bottom layer, put down the top layer and drizzled the remaining glaze. Great cake with tea!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: mischiefsgirl
Wonderfull recipe! I baked mine in a bundt pan and sifted some powdered sugar on top. My girls loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: 1smartcookie
Seriously delightful recipe! I made 12 jumbo muffins, and had plenty of batter. It bakes up really light and lemony, great texture, not heavy like pound cake. Moist, sweet, delish! It's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2005
Reviewed by: CHERRYSCENTED
I put 1/2 cup of margarine as opposed to 3/4 cup, and added a whole cup of yogurt instead. AND, it was mixed berry yogurt. Let me tell you...they were DELICIOUS. I will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Cheryl
The recipe turned out great but did not have enough lemon flavor. Since I omitted the zest because of personal preference, I added more lemon juice but obviously not enough. Instead of making 2 loaves I made 1 plus 12 muffins. I agree that there are way to many poppy seeds. Will definitely make again just fine tune it to my taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: allpurpose
I tried out this recipe this morning- it took a while to prepare and put together, but 10 minutes after it was put in the oven the apartment smelled like lemon-cream. It was delicious! Unlike many people that reviewed this recipe- I followed it to a T. I figure its better to try it, and then make adjustments that I see fit. I DID notice that it took longer than the 50 minutes in the oven, the middle was still liquid-y when I checked it at 45min. I left it in for a bit over an hour, then was scared that the edges would be a little burnt. We've enjoyed a slice already since then- it was beautiful. Im just hoping it doesnt dry out too quickly- if it does, dont worry- I'll let you know!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Nicky
This cake wasn't burned but it was really dark when I took it out of the oven. I had made a couple of changes to the recipe (using only two eggs, losing the poppy seeds and adding more lemon zest) but I followed the cooking times and temperatures properly so I don't see how that could have made a difference. Anyway, to remedy this I sliced off the burnt-ish outsides, turned the cakes upside down and covered the whole thing in a glaze of lemon juice, icing sugar and a little butter. The cake soaked up the glaze so the outsides had extra sweetness, the inside was moist and tasty and the cakes smelled great. I saved one of the loafs in the fridge and had it a week later, it was just as good as when it was freshly cooked. If you're thinking of making this cake, go for it! It's very tasty and light and despite the mishap I had with the burning, I enjoyed it very much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: TILLSTER
I halved this recipe and made it into 11 muffins instead of one loaf. They tasted so good! I tend to stick with the popular recipes, so it was a pleasant surprise that a recipe that didn't have a zillion reviews still turned out to be so yummy and worthwhile making. :-))
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This is good, but I wish it had more lemon flavor. I even added some lemon extract. But it was still good. I used half whole wheat pasty flour and half applesauce for the oil. I made half the batch into mini muffins (24) and my kids just ate them up- they loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes