My Reviews (276)

Simple Lemon Icing

You can't go wrong with a good lemon icing and you can't improve it either! These measurements work for me every time.
Reviews (276)


01 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: anniew798
This recipe is GREAT! Its soo easy and my partner LOVES lemon icing and he loves this one. Thanks
 
05 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Pivilio
It work brilliantly and tasted not unlike a delicious lemon cream. Remember to soften the butter, though, if you're not familiar with cooking. (20-30 seconds is enough
 
19 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: billybob
This is easy and delicious, looks exactly like picture,,,, yum
 
28 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: alessi
A great recipe. I veganised it by using nuttelex instead of butter and it worked perfectly. I also added 2 tablespoons of lemon zest.
 
18 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: KimCollard
Perfect! I added lemon zest for little more punch
 
10 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: MelissaSaunders
I added buttermilk to make it creamier, really brought out the zest in the lemon juice!
 
05 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Ms. Chaka
I FORGOT TO MENTION: FRESH LEMON JUICE IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST!! This is an absolutely fantastic recipe. It has actually become my base icing for many different things... 1. Omit the lemon and replace it w/ strawberry juice - and you have strawberry icing. 2. Make sure the butter is still fairly hard and add some body temperature melted chocolate and you have chocolate icing (again, omit the lemon!) 3. Add some very ripe mashed banana (just a tablespoon!) and you have delicious banana lemon icing. 4. Instead of lemon use a couple tablespoons of Bailey's Irish cream and you have a fantastic whippy icing for adults (absolutely delicious on chocolate cake)... I do have a couple tips regarding the original recipe. If you find the consistency to be too hard (which will very likely happen) I would not add more lemon unless you really like a very powerful lemon flavour. Instead add a few drops of milk or cream (it will not curdle if you add it once the other ingredients have already been beaten). Another way to combat too hard icing is to make sure your butter is absolutely at room temperature. Finally, for those on a tight budget - margerine works just fine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: blondiecakes
soooooo good & soooo easy!! i tried the original recipe and liked it alot, then i tweaked it a bit and now i love it alot. i used 2 sticks of butter, a 2lb bag of powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla, 5-6 tablespoons of lemon juice & proceeded as directed. I beat the daylights out of it and it came out very light & fluffy! absolutely fab-u-loso indeed! perfect lemon buttercream icing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Tanaquil
I halved this to use with a lemon box mix cake. It was really sweet! I mean REALLY sweet! It didn't spread too well, either, as it was really thick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: CookinginFL
Very nice frosting. Used it to ice a lemon sheet cake. If you want a really lemony taste, use lemon extract in place of the vanilla, or do half vanilla and half lemon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes