My Reviews (1,488)

White Fish with Lemon and Garlic

The quickest, simplest and sometimes best way to prepare fish fillets. You can bake it or even barbecue it. Tastes great either way!
Reviews (1488)


21 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
This classic sauce of sauteed butter, parsley and lemon juice is fantastic. Definitely saute the garlic or else it will taste too raw, even after it's baked. I have used this sauce for almost all types of fish- true cod, halibut, basa, tilapia, sole, trout, and salmon. All tasted superb. ALWAYS increase the garlic. For 4 filets, I use 3 large cloves, 3-4 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoon lemon juice. Just make sure you always have less lemon juice than butter or else it will taste too lemony -even when doubling/tripling it. For a large filet of salmon, I triple the amount. Lightly salt and pepper the fish for more flavor and I sometimes add 2-3 tablespoon of buttered bread crumbs or finely crushed (buttered) ritz crackers for an extra crunch. And of course, fresh parsley is better than dried and use real butter, never margarine. 3 stars for original recipe, 5 stars for slight alterations. Simple and flavorful marinade that still lets the flavor of the fish shine through. TIP- do NOT bake for 30 min, especially tilapia, which is so thin. High temperature, quick cooking time is a rule of thumb for all fish. For this, I did 400 degrees, for 10-12 min (at most!). If filets are super thin, try 8-10 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Eireann
This is my recipe and I just wanted to add a note here for everyone that you can substitute the butter for 1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil and it tastes great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Katie723
I couldn't believe how easy and delicious this was! I changed the recipe a little based on suggestions from other reviewers...I sautéed the garlic, lemon juice and parsley in the butter before drizzling it over the tilapia, plus I added some red pepper flakes to the mixture. I covered the fillets with chili powder and I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top when there were only 10 minutes of baking time left. Absolutely delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: SPBowe
I used an idea someone earlier presented - I baked these fillets individually in foil packets. I used garlic powder instead of garlic cloves (my husband is not a huge fan of garlic) and also added onion powder. The fish was flaky and delicious and the juices from the foil packets were so tasty over the rice we had with the fish. Green beans rounded out the meal. My husband and I want to eat healthier and this recipe will become a regular one, I am sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: koigal
Excellent, simple recipe. I do agree with outher members on a few comments. Butter is better, but it can be cut with some EVOO to reduce the saturated fat. It is better with fresh parsley also. And, it is a bit bland without a bit of salt and pepper before covering with the sauteed garlic/butter/oil mixture. I too put the lemon juice over the fish first for a short time. Be careful not to let it marinate too long or the fish will begin to soften (i.e.cook) due to the acid of the juice and the time for cooking will need to be shortened. I cooked it for about 10 min. at 400. Great!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Southbeacher1
Easy, quick, delicious -- but DO NOT bake for 30 minutes! Bake for 10 minutes and test for flakiness. If the fish flakes, it's done. Mine was perfect at 10 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: LULU
This was very good!!! I did mine a little different. I melted 1 stick of butter and sauteed 3 cloves of garlic and the juice from one lemon in the butter. I seasoned the fish with garlic salt, pepper, and cajun seasoning, poured the butter, garlic, and lemon mixture over the fish and let it sit in the pan with alluminum foil over it for about 2 hours before cooking. I let it cook for about 15 min on 375 and broiled it for about 2 min. It was the best baked fish I've ever had!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: JGOODSON
This was quick and easy. I Melted 2 T. butter in saucepan, then sauteed the garlic, parsley, and lemon juice in the butter. I salted and peppered the bottom of the tilapia fillets, then sprinkled the tops generously with Cajun seasoning (Tony Chachere's). Then I drizzled the butter mixture over fillets, then sprinkled generously with Parmesan cheese. Baked as directed for 15 minutes. Moist, flaky, and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2006
Reviewed by: DRAGNLAW
For sure a 5*. Only change I made was to add the crushed garlic to the melted butter drizzle over the fish. My tilapia was frozen and I left it that way- straight into the oven. Came out perfect. Thought the lemon would be too much, was wrong... perfect, light and wonderful. Thanks Eireann.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: peculiarmike
The fish is the issue, not the recipe, use another type fish and I'm fine with it. I do not eat Tilapia because of how they are raised. Big fish farms raise fish in huge tanks. They put Tilapia in the tanks to keep the tanks clean, Tilapia eat the feces from the primary fish. After the primary fish are removed the Tilapia are harvested. A recent additional BIG money maker for the fish farms. (I got no problem with making money) That's why you see Tilapia pushed so much. They are basically a freebie to raise (no feed costs!) and almost pure profit. And almost pure.............. "You are what you eat" I'm just sayin'.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes