My Reviews (68)

Light Lemon Cake

A lovely light lemon cake, very simple to make when you don't feel like making something more elaborate. It's good either with or without icing.
Reviews (68)


26 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Runnincook
This was really, really good. The texture was fabulous - light bust very moist. I subtituted the lemon extract with about 2 tbsp lemon juice and the rind of 1/2 a lemon, and the shortening with unsalted butter. Oh, and I used skim milk. : ) I'm giving this cake four stars because I felt what really made it amazing (even my father went back for seconds! unheard of!) was the lemon glaze I topped it with (just mix lemon juice, confectioners sugar, and lemon rind) and the lemon ricotta creme I served on the side. The combination was oustanding. For the ricotta creme, I just threw about a cup of ricotta (part skim), tbsp lemon juice, lemon rind from one lemon, 1 tbsp half and half, and maybe 2 tbsp sugar? because you can throw it all in the blender, you can really just adjust to your liking. Wonderful recipe. This is probably the new family favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: SAWOODWARD
Excellent cake-very moist. I made a couple of substitutions. I didn't have cake flour, so I did 1 3/4 all purpose flour, 1/4 corn starch. Also didn't have shortening, so I used butter instead. I used the zest and juice of two lemons instad of the extract (although possibly didn't need that much zest). Only had skim milk on hand, which worked fine. I iced it with a lemon icing and topped with strawberries. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Rachel
thanks for the great recipe! it's wonderful. however, i would liek to suggest some additions to this recipe. can try adding some lemon zest and fresh lemon juice in place of the lemon extract for a nice lemony taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: blondiecakes
these are fabulously light & moist! i think you could sub almost any extract for the lemon and have fantastic results...vanilla, almond, they'd all be just as good if you don't happen to like lemon. i did make these as cupcakes and baked them for about 12-15 minutes and they came out perfect. I frosted them with the lemon icing from this site and they were simply delightful. yum, yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Nadia
Reallly, really good! I cut this recipe in 1/2 to make 1 cake. Tastes like a fluffy, lemony marshmellow. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: CHARIS1
Great, subtle lemon flavor. For true lemon lovers, add a little lemon extract to the frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: amyi
i have this cake in the oven at the moment so i will be back when it's done to update. i did make some modifications as follows: i didn't have cake flour so i subbed 1 3/4 c all purpose flour + 1/4 c corn starch, rather than lemon extract i used the juice of two lemons + the rind of 1 lemon, and lastly, rather than 1/2 c shortening i used 1/2 c unsalted butter. usually i LOVE the taste of cake batter but to be honest the taste of this batter didn't have me licking the beaters. i REALLY hope this cake will taste better once cooked! UPDATE: what a disappointment... this cake is nothing other than a mock angel food cake. it didn't rise much and it actually fell a little in the middle (had it been in a tube pan like a normal angel food cake that wouldn't have happened). because it fell the center of cake is a bit gummy while the edges taste pretty decent (but like i said, like an angel food cake). if you're looking for a good lemon cake i recommend looking for another recipe. i won't try this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: SizzleCakes
So good! It had the perfect amount of sweetness and just the right amount of lemon flavor. I filled the layers with blackberry jam and topped it with lemon cream. It almost tasted like a brunch cake. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: karvander
Very yummy! I used the fresh lemon juice and lemon rind like other people had suggested. I also added poppyseeds because I had some and figured I should start using them up. They added a nice crunch to the cake. I cooked it in a bundt pan because I was running short on time and figured it would look nicer in it than in a plain pan. After it cooled I just drizzled a glaze over it. (1 cup icing sugar, and the juice and rind from half a lemon and a little water to make it a little more porable) It turned out really well with a nice tart lemon flavor. This recipe is a keeper for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Maria
I took the other reviews into consideration and made this with the juice and zest of one lemon. It was great but would have been fine with even a little bit more lemon. I used this for cupcakes and baked them for 15 minutes. I had to double the recipe at the last minute because the batter was only enough for about 18 cupcakes and I was bringing them to a party. I topped them with a homemade cream cheese frosting and garnished with a fresh raspberry - they were a huge hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes