My Reviews (23)

Lemon Walnut Bars

This is an old recipe but it has withstood the test of time. Lemon bars with coconut and walnut, easy to make, delicious to eat.
Reviews (23)


24 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: ALOHA3
EXCELLENT!! Was gone almost as fast as it was made. I really don't like coconut or walnut... BUT.. THIS was OUTRAGEOUSLY GOOD.. & EASY ~! I used about 2x the lemon juice. Will definitely Make again and again and for guests too Gotta try this!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: REBJEANNIE
Ok, I have no idea what the other reviewers commented on, but I don't think it was this recipe?! I LOVE sweets, and in fact being 1 of 7 kids (Big Family) I am the one everyone calls for the "next best dessert" recipe. The icing was way too tangy for the almost pecan pie type underfilling. Imagine a Pecan pie with a tangy lemon icing on top. Not my idea of a good dessert. Sorry to be so negative but these were just not good at all. Dissapointment.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Reci Doyle
Great recipe! I've now made these 3 times, and have found that also adding about 1/4 tsp of lemon extract will take care of those who don't think that it's "lemony enough".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: Lesley
These bars were okay but not lemony enough. I agree with another reviewer that something was missing. I also am not sure if I like coconut in lemon bars....I think I will keep on looking. Thanks anyway.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: JANEINAZ
These are a holiday favorite at my house. I recommend using fresh lemon juice & zest. Also, I've made them with pecans rather than walnuts, and they were equally good with either. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Brooke Laurel
I really loved this recipe. The baking of the walnut layer created a nice crunchy top & the nuts had a beautiful roasted flavour. I added a little more lemon zest (about three teaspoons) & a dash more juice, so the icing was really tangy & offset the sweetness of the rest of the dessert. I'll definitely make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Sandi S.
Wow...a great tasting lemon bar that is soft and slightly chewy. Used the zest and juice of 1 lemon (a little more juice than required, but that was ok - just added a bit more sugar)to give it enough tang. Everybody who tried it today loved it - addictive is the word of the day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: WENDA
One of the best lemonbars ever! Everyone at work loved them and want more!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Paula
This is an excellent recipe! I put in 3 tbsp. of lemon juice and used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I'm going to make these for our next family gathering. Thanks Sandra!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: LONDONER
I made this for our house. Loved it so much, am making it for an upcoming bake sale at our church. Thank you Sandra.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes