My Reviews (281)

Moroccan Chicken Tagine

A great Moroccan style dish with chicken, chickpeas, vegetables and spices. Serve with flat bread for sopping up the juices.
Reviews (281)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Bubby said:
Something else. This is an interesting version of this recipe. I don't add zucchini, garlic or lemon juice. I may experiment with those to add to my version. I do love the Morrocan Chicken I make. I have a few variations. Usually I am fine with just 2-3 chicken breast fillets sauteed in 3 Tbsp olive oil. I also add one capsicum to the dish with more carrots and celery. I think the more vegetables the better. I also use less salt; like 1 tsp. I don't use chicken stock, but would like to next time. And finally, I add walnuts and raisins. These ingredients really enhance the flavour and texture of this dish. Overall, this has become one of my favourite dishes to make because it is really easy and delicious. Serve with couscous simmered in chicken stock and little olive oil.
 
17 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: ykraith
Made this for dinner tonight. Absolutely love the mix of spices and vegetables. Next time I make this I'm going to make it without the chicken so I have another vegetarian dish.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
NJSS2000 said:
Used different ingredients. This was so tasty! We used red kidney beans once, and liked that combination even better than the chickpeas. Will definitely be making this again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Amy
I've made this dish at least 15 times now. It's amazing! Anyone who's ever tried it asks for the recipe. Recently I hosted a dinner party and served this dish. Everyone at the party now has the recipe! You won't be disappointed!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ddwmitch
I try recipes from this website all the time, has got to be one of my favourites. The spices were wonderful, and adding the tomato flavour and chickpeas was a nice twist. I marinated the chicken overnight in the spices and ginger and garlic for extra flavour. We served this with couscous for a complete meal. Fabulous!
 
Comment:
25 May 2010
Something else. I may try this recipe. My partner and I love Moroccan chicken, but I am not sure if he is a fan of chick peas so I might use some other type of bean or maybe almonds instead. I think some apricots would make a nice addition to this recipe. I will post later and let you know how it goes
 
Comment:
24 Oct 2008
I tried this recipe but my chicken breast turned out to be hard and dry. I was wondering about cooking cubed chicken breast in sauce for 25 minutes but did it as the recipe instructed anyways. The sauce turned out to be very tasty. Next time I will try simmering the chicken for 10 minutes after browning.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Rebslo said:
Something else. I didn't exactly follow the recipe to a T. I used a whole bunch more vegetables than amounts given. I didn't have zucchini available, so I just omitted it. I also am in the habit of marinating the chicken ahead of time, like my mum taught me, with salt, cayenne pepper and cooking sherry (just enough to wet it) and letting it sit for an hour in the fridge. I think next time I will marinate with vinegar instead to give it a sour twist. Also used the juice of a whole lemon. It was a little spicier than I had expected because I used cayenne to marinate on top of the 1/4 tsp cayenne in the recipe, but we like it hot here. It got a great review from my family and I am sure to make it again.
 
14 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: anabela
 
23 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: SILLYSARAHC123
I gave this 5 stars, but only after making drastic changes. Just looking at the recipe it is apparent that the recommended amount of spices wouldn't be enough. I either doubled or tripled all the spices (I didn't have paprika or turmeric so I omitted those, but I added white pepper, coriander, chili powder, and cinnamon to taste. I also used cumin powder as well as black cumin seeds). I also put in about 6 small-medium cloves of garlic and 2 tbsp fresh ginger. I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes so I omitted those, but I did add in a whole (large) can of diced tomatoes (rather than crushed). I also used the liquid from the chick peas. I threw everything except chicken in a dutch oven and simmered it til veggies & chick peas were tender - maybe 20-30 min. Meanwhile, I sauteed the chicken in olive oil, garlic and salt & pepper and when it was almost cooked I added it to the stewing veggies and spices and cooked it about 10 min longer. I cooked up some couscous with cinnamon & raisins and served the chicken and veg over the couscous. The sweetness of the cinnamon-raisin couscous was delicious with the spicy and flavorful chicken dish. It was so yummy!! I recommend using this recipe as a guideline but not following it literally - make it your own and you will probably like it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes