My Reviews (127)

Lemon Coconut Bars

The most delicious lemon bars you'll ever make, thanks to the combination of tangy lemon curd and coconut. Try them out!
Reviews (127)


12 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Niesgirl
This recipe should have baking powder, not baking soda in the bottom crust. Made many years.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: nancy
The look of these bars was fabulous, absolutely wonderful, I wish I had a camera to submit a photo. Next time I will not add baking soda to the crust, I am telling you I am the queen of bars, and I don’t use baking soda at all in my crusts it makes a big diffrence. I used my own recipe for lemon curd: ( ½ cup lemon juice, 1 teaspoon of lemon zest ,3 eggs, 13/4 cup sugar, 1teaspoon of corn flour, put all ingredients in the blender for 10 seconds, then cook the curd on a low heat and add ½ stick of butter boil for 5 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
Ohhhh, so good. Hubs even liked them and he generally doesn't like lemon period...except squeezed on fish. I halved the recipe (used 8x8 pan) and used almost a full can of lemon pie filling, to which I added the juice and zest from half a lemon to freshen it up. Because I knew these would be a more delicate bar dessert, I used sliced almonds rather than chopped, and I was more than pleased with the modifications I made. Rich and buttery, refreshingly lemony, not too sweet, pretty and perfect little dessert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Valerie's Kitchen
WOW! I made this and it was great but I found many faults. So I made it again the next day. I made certain to crush the roasted slivers of almonds well; I made the crust 1 1/2 times the batter. I also used the recipe on this site for lemon curd which makes approximately 2 cups of curd. The second batch was incredible I am going to send a few packages to some restaurants in area to sell..... Thanks for the great recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2008
Reviewed by: EILISH40
Great basic bar recipe but I leave out the baking soda in the crust because it is not necessary. Also, when time permits, homemade lemon curd is the best. Thanks for submitting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: BYRDSEED
Fantastic. I'm having one more and sending the rest to work with my husband tomorrow. Use good quality lemon curd - Stonewall Kitchens if you can find it. I toasted the pecans, too, and used a bit more than 1/2 cup, also used 11 x 7 pan as one reviewer suggested. Yum. Don't worry if the crust looks a little unstable when you take it out of the oven the first time. It'll set up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Jenifer
Be sure to use the coconut and almonds if you like them; they really make this recipe special. Be sure to press the topping into the lemon curd before baking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: mcrissohot
THIS WAS SO GOOD i put one zest of lemon in for extra coz i the curd i had was not very lemonny. I would definately try this again and the next time i try it, i would use a little more lemon zest and lessent the amount of butter by half or 1/3. It was a bit too oily and buttery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: SHELLI4018
My family loved this recipe. My hubby thinks its the best dessert I've made! Anyway, I made a few changes to the recipe. We aren't big fans of coconut so I didn't use any. Also, I used a suggestion from another reviewer and substituted the store bought lemon curd for the Perfect Lemon Curd recipe. It was SOOO good. I couldn't believe I actually made it all from scratch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: 1JOHN513
This was good, but like a few others said, I thought the crust was too buttery/greasy. If you're expecting a "lemon bar", this isn't it at all. A very different version--think lemon dessert bar. Ours wasn't too sweet at all, so it really depends on what kind of lemon curd you use. Homemade vs. several different brands out there= different levels of tartness. I used Trader Joe's curd and would've like it a little more lemony, so would use some lemon zest in the curd or the topping. I'd also cut the butter down by at least 25%. I'd also be interested in trying the crust w/baking powder as one reviewer mentioned. It's a good dessert bar but I think it could be excellent with some changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes