My Reviews (18)

Vegetables in Lemon Butter

Try this for a great side dish with any kind of main course - but it goes particularly well with beef. My kids always fight over the carrots!
Reviews (18)


26 May 2010
Reviewed by: megameaghan1
I actually wanted a sauce to serve over asparagus and this was perfect. I took one of the reviewers suggestions and only used 4T butter, 2T lemon juice, half the salt and pepper and less Italian seasoning than the recipe called for. It was absolutely delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2008
Reviewed by: JAMIEBECK
Great way to add a little zing to veggies. I make these with just the carrots - no potatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Diana S.
Very good recipe! I agree that 6 T. of butter was too much... next time I'll reduce that. My main problem with this is that I really didn't care for lemon with potatoes. Just kind of a strange combination of flavors to me. But I loved the seasoned butter with the carrots, so next time around I'll skip the spuds and mix the carrots with other veggies. Zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower... I think they'd all be great. Also looking forward to trying this with fresh herbs from the garden this summer. Thanks, Mikki!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Great potential! I used the amt of potatoes/carrots required AND I added 1 small head of broccoli chopped and a small sliced zuchinni and there was still a pool of butter at the bottom of my dish. The taste is very good but next time, I will use only 3-4 TBLS butter, 2 TBLS lemon juice, half the salt and half the italian seasoning to the same amt of veggies and all should be fine. These would be great with seafood! Will make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: cynthia the novice
Even my boys ate these veggies! I'll be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: grneyedmustang
This was a good recipe....helped me eat my carrots....LOL! I did make a few changes. First, I reduced the amount of butter and lemon juice, and did not add the italian seasoning (I don't really care for it). I boiled the carrots (because I don't have a steamer), then added the butter, lemon pepper (as suggested by another user), lemon juice, and salt, then mixed them all in one pot. They were really good. A keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: kuiper55
I thought these vegetables were good. Next time I will use a little less lemon, and more salt. I used my wok to steam my vegetables, and it was a lot less work.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Ann
Very delicious! I love anything lemon! I refused to buy Italian Seasoning so instead I searched for the recipe on this site. It was simple to make since I had all of the spices (okay, all but one) and it tasted great. The potatoes were too soft and next time I won't cook them quite as long.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: NSTELLOSMITH
This recipe was great...I tried it on mixed vegetables instead of potatoes and carrots and took it to a wedding reception...everyone loved it. They all wanted the recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: OkieLora
I added a dash of lemon pepper instead of the plain black pepper. It was a great recipe. I loved it. Great way to get more carrots into your diet when they are not your favorate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes