My Reviews (782)

Apple Sauce Muffins

Apple sauce provides the sweetness for these amazing and healthy muffins. Other ingredients are sultanas, walnuts, wheatgerm and carrots.
Reviews (782)


22 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: solly7
Great recipe, easy to make, very tasty & full of flavour. They freeze well. Great for breakie on the run!
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
JWRIVERA said:
Made it vegetarian. This recipe is the best! I used honey instead of the sugar, and used equal parts wholemeal flour and wholemeal pastry flour instead of the suggested amounts of flour. I also used an egg substitute instead of eggs and soya milk to make the whole thing vegan - it still tasted superb!!!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SLAPORTE
very moist and very appetising
 
13 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: BellaKat
These were hit with everyone so I'll definitely be making them again. My little dairy free grandson loved them. They're so moist and lovely and quick and easy too. They freeze well and if you make mini muffins you'll have loads. I didn't have wholemeal flour so plain all the way and used less sugar. I also used granny smith apples (tart) in muffins and for the apple sauce I made and they were still sweet. I'll be using red delicious next time to increase natural sweetness and will reduce amount of sugar even further.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: BABYLADY4
I needed a muffin that called for a lot of fruit since I had some of everything on hand, and this fit the bill. Made these yesterday and have 3 left! I forgot the wheatgerm and nuts, but they are still terrific.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SABLEMOON
We love these muffins! And who can tell they're good for you, too?! Grating the carrots takes me a while -- wish I had a food processor. Hint: they freeze then warm in the oven good as new. YUM!!!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MESHL
I made these for Christmas morning and they were a big hit. My 2-year-old loved them.
 
24 May 2006
Reviewed by: PAULITAZ
Modified for our own taste by using 1c flour, 1c whole wheat flour, 1c apple sauce (instead of ½ apple butter), and added ½c unsweetened coconut. I also made two batches, one with 1c sugar and one with 1c Spenda as we wanted to see if there was a measurable difference in taste. Both batches were really marvelous! Splenda seems to really do well as a sugar substitute when baking. Took them to work thinking I would freeze any leftovers but couldn’t because there weren’t any. A huge hit in the office although next time I will NOT use muffin liners. Thanks for the delicious, low-fat, Weight Watcher friendly recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Kali Peacock
These are fantastic! Instead of grating the carrots and chopping the apple, I just ran it all through the food processor real quick. And I used unsweetened applesauce instead of apple butter--much cheaper and also better for you. Instead of making the topping of chopped nuts and wheat germ, I just added about 1/2 cup chopped nuts to the mix. I also used baking papers instead of greasing the tins. They turned out soooo good! I will make these over and over again, for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: JWRIVERA
This recipe is the best! I used 1c honey instead of the sugar, and used equal parts whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour instead of the suggested amounts of flour. I also used an egg substitute instead of eggs and soymilk to make the whole thing vegan - it still tasted superb!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes