My Reviews (9)

White Cake with Coconut-Brown Sugar Icing

This cake is delicious and very simple to whip together, perfect for summer dessert. The coconut-brown sugar icing is special!
Reviews (9)


10 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Charlu
This is a family favorite that my mother used to make and now I've been making for years. I usually make 1 1/2 recipes of this and bake it in a 9x13 pan. We also spread the frosting on the cake right out of the oven and then broil it till bubbly. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: DaCook
I have been baking this cake for many years but instead of baking powder I use 1 tsp. baking soda. Also the icing should be heated for about 3 min. then poured over the cake as soon as it is finished baking, then return cake to oven for 5 minutes. It's a great treat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Moma
This recipe is FABULOUS and has been around for many, many, many years!!!...Actually, one of MY childhood favorites that I passed on to my own family! ~This cake also tastes Great iced with a white butter icing topped with crushed pecans....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Fran
I am thinking there is an error in this recipe. All other sites I see this recipe and indeed the one passed down to me by my mother has 1 teaspoon not 1 tablespoon of baking powder. The one tablespoon seems a bit much for just one cup of flour. I make mine with 1 teaspoon and it works well! done with 1 tsp of BP I give it a 5. venisonfurs, this might be why your cake overflowed.. too much baking powder fran
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Jeri
i'm over 50 and this is the VERY FIRST cake I ever made (I was 5) and it was with my Grandma Bessie in DeQueen Arkansas!!! i have two granddaughters that live with me, that love to cook and bake and I can't wait to make this with them very, very soon. I'm so happy to have found the recipe - THANK YOU!!! (I actually don't remember making it with coconut but I love coconut and Grandma was simple in her baking pleasures and very, very frugal (from the depression era, ya' know so I doubt she ever bought coconut! Fortunate, I love coconut and will certainly follow this recipe!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: venisonfurs
Overflowed my 8 inch cake pan in the oven and started a fire. I should have used 3 8-inch pans, but the recipe says 1 pan. Needs to be clearer because this cake is amazing, my grandmother used to make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: longwinternights
I make this all the time from a similar recipe (most have more topping than mine, so I may try increasing the amount I make) but the one major difference--and I think it may be a typo--is that I only use 1 teaspoon of baking powder, not a tablespoon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: LaurieS
This is an incredibly moist, delicious cake. Easy to put together and variations possible. I added some drained pineapple to it one time and it was quite good. Thinking of adding some toasted pecans too. Definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: gaignedd
This recipe is a keeper, the only thing I changed due to the fact I had no heavy cream, I used whipping cream instead. Cake is very moist and fluffy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes