My Reviews (14)

Meringue Icing

Here's a great creamy icing with a meringue texture. You can substitute sherry instead of vanilla for an interesting variation.
Reviews (14)


24 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: midwestchef
It should be noted that this recipe is for a specific cake...the Lady Baltimore Cake...which is a very light cake. It isn't necessarily for the typical cake or cupcakes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: CLSTOCK
I've always thought that cooked icings were more work than they're worth but this one was so easy to make I plan to use it on all my angel food cakes from now on. Replace the vanilla with flavored extracts and you can get a icing to match any cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: tmcp
This is a great merinque frosting. Very fluffy and light. I let the egg whites come to room temp before I whipped them, and after adding the syrup, I beat them for about 10 minutes. Awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: BRENDA BRUBECK
This was a fabulous frosting. Very easy to do and made quite a bit of frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: ETSANCHEZ
This is a very easy to make frosting. I made it for my 8-year old son´s birthday and he and his friends loved it. I recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: EASYLYVIN
It was OK, there's other frosting recipes I prefer. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Deb
My daughter's favorite cake is angel food with "sticky frosting" like her grandmother and aunt has always made. I have tried many, many recipes but for one reason or another they never quite made the grade (would dry out, develop a crust, etc.). This recipe is totally what I've been searching for. Used this on an angel food cake for Easter dinner and everyone loved it. This recipe does make a lot of frosting so next time I'll either halve the recipe, make 2 angel food cakes or make one cake and some kind of cupcakes to use up the leftovers. Could possibly be used for the filling in whoopie pies. Many thanks for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: deb
Soooo delicious!!! The perfect icing for a Devil's Food Cake or an Angel Food Cake. I make the Devil's Food cake with this icing every year for myself on my birthday!! As a matter of fact, I'm baking the DF cake right now then making this frosting; my BD was 07/14/16. How funny is that! I could literally eat the whole recipe of icing right out of the mixing bowl with a spoon...it is just that delicious. Don't let the name "Lady Baltimore Frosting" fool you; this is basically a 7 Minute Frosting without having to prepare in a double-boiler. (MidwestChef stated this is specifically for the LB cake...phooey, you can use it for whatever cake you want!) So, with that said have fun baking and enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2012
heavenly. worth the work. don't be afraid of the thermometer and such (i was) - this is so good you'll be eating spoonfuls before it touches the cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Debra Thommen Reynolds
OMG, This is reeally GOOD! I made a Angle Food cake and I was looking for a Seven Minute Frosting,and I came upon this recipe,read the reviews,thought I would try it. It does make lot,to good to throw the left overs away,so I'm going to freeze it{don't know how that will turn out}. The recipe is really easy to make. The spreading consisitancy is real easy,not on the runny side like others I have made. The taste is really good,just the right amount of sweetness. I already saved this recipe to my recipe box and even copied the recipe out. This is a definite keeper,and I will make this from now on. Thanks so much for the awesome frosting recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes