My Reviews (28)

Cream Biscuits

This is a Norwegian sour cream biscuit called kringla. They take a little preparation but they are fluffy and melt in your mouth delicious.
Reviews (28)


23 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: JACKROX
After trying to decifer my mom's recipe for this, which was handed down by her mom and so on, I found this recipe which was almost exact, except I used buttermilk instead of heavy cream. Calling the dough sticky is the understatement of the century, there was no way I could roll it out and make shapes (perhaps because I used buttermilk?) SO, I came up with a great idea to put it in a ziplock bag, cut the end and pipe the shapes onto the cookie sheets. They came out FABULOUS! And taste just like I remember from when I was a kid. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: AJ
I have a similar recipe for the Norwegian "soft" Kringla cookies/cakes. Mine uses buttermilk though, but I think the sour cream is the key to fab flavor. Soft Kringla are amazing! I do mine in all sorts of shapes, but be careful to keep the same shape on each cookie sheet for even cooking. I do hoops, figure 8's, twists, 'S' shapes, and spirals (think snail shell). I've experimented with coating these in chocolate --- amazing! You can dip half a cookie, or use a thin-tip pastry bag and swirl on (think of following the spiral indent) or stripe on. Gotta use good quality bittersweet or semisweet chocolate though. Great recipe! Glad to see another soft-Norwegian Kringla recipe on the web.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: CHERILJ
I wanted to try some Norwegian recipes for Christmas for my fiance's family who are Norwegian. They all loved this recipe. It is a little time consuming but turned our very good. The cookies are not too sweet and are great in the morning with coffee.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Amanda B.
This is a favorite treat of my in-laws...they usually order them online. I decided to go crazy and make this recipe and they were a HUGE hit. I was told these were every bit as authentic and delicious as they remembered from their childhood. The dough is SUPER STICKY. I followed the advice of someone else and used the plastic baggy/icing trick. It probably saved me hours and hours of unnecessary work. I also suggest keeping an eagle eye as they're baking. They quickly turn from undercooked to burnt on the bottom.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Amanda
These are exactly what I was looking for! The recipe as written is just a bit sweet for my family's taste, so I cut the sugar down to about a cup. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Tay
If you chill the dough really well it makes rolling easier. It also doesn't hurt to use some flour when rolling. I grew up making these with my mom.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: CRAZY4SUSHI
Not sure how you are supposed to roll this into a rope. The dough is way too sticky. So I followed the advice and piped the cookies onto a silpat lined cookie sheet. We were making these for a Norwegian heritage project for 5th grade so we did not bother with the figure eight. We just piped them into straight little sticks about 5 inches long. That way we could get more out of the recipe. These reminded me of the cake-like lady fingers. I thought they were about a 3 star, my son thinks they were a 4 1/2, but then he has more Norwegian blood than me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: skrafft
My family is Norwegian and we always have kringlas at Thanksgiving, but I couldn't find my recipe so I used this one this year and it is wonderful! Tastes just like when my grandma would make them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2011
This recipe is the same as my grammas except that we use only one cup of sugar, no shortening and the whole egg. She would mix the baking soda into the sour cream before adding all of the ingredients together. To make the dough workable you must refrigerate it for at least two hours. This has been a family favorite for years!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Moonsmith
OH krap.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes