My Reviews (270)

Lamb Kofta Kebabs

These barbecued kebabs have six kinds of spices and are wonderful served with yoghurt, flat bread, lettuce, tomato and cucumber.
Reviews (270)


23 May 2010
Reviewed by: Chuck Wesserling
Very good, tastes authentic. I use ground beef instead of lamb and serve with the traditional garlic sauce: 4 gloves of garlic, peeled and crushed, 1/4 c olive oil, juice of 1 lemon, 1/4 teaspoon salt. Process in blender or food processor. If the mixture is too runny, add mayo to thicken it to a creamy-thick consistency. Serve over the koftas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LarryK
Made these with only ground beef, and baked them for 25 minutes at 350, and served them with some lettuce, yogurt, tomatoes, and a sliced up garlic pickle in a pita - delicious!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: mamagast
We recently moved from the Detroit metro area where we were lucky enough to have our choice of many of the best middle eastern restaurants in the U.S. These kebabs taste just like the Kofta we sampled in so many places - delicious!! We used beef instead of lamb, but I have also had chicken kofta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
Bored with the same ol' same ol,' I decided to throw caution to the wind and go for something completely foreign to me. I planned this around an entire Middle Eastern dinner! I have never had anything like this. (I know, where have I been all my life?) I wasn't sure at all that I'd like all the spices, many of which were common to a pumpkin pie! I was particularly wary of the cinnamon and was tempted to cut it way back. But I was eager to try this, and figured if worse came to worst we could always come up with Plan B. I was so pleased, so surprised! Somehow the myriad of spices all come together and produce something pleasantly and mildly flavorful, albeit unusually so. I found they're not as good on their own, however, as they are tucked in a pita or flatbread with some fresh greens and tzatziki sauce (thinly sliced tomato and red onion would have been very good with this too - wish I would have thought of that BEFORE we sat down to dinner) I made them into little sausage shapes, two per skewer, then turned them over to Hubs, who grilled them to perfection over charcoal. Still, this preparation of meat is different and unfamiliar to most of us, and as such won't appeal to everyone - as it did not with my mother... (Note: I used two parts lamb, one part ground chuck)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Sir Samalot
I have followed the recipe perfectly in the past and made delicious kofta, but more recently I started using lean chevap meat instead. It tasted absolutely divine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2009
Reviewed by: RoseRover
Pretty tasty. I made mine half and half with ground beef and ground pork and doubled the recipe. I was worried that the spices might be overwhelming, but they weren't. I didn't bother shaping the meat into 28 (or 56!) round balls, I just formed cylinders (about 4" by 1.5") around the skewers. The double recipe made 10 portions this way. The meat was nice and moist after grilling. They were great grilled and served with pita bread, tomatoes, cucumbers and tzatziki.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: brittnisue
Pretty good. It was enough for 2 maybe 3 people, I made 3 average size skewers, I have no idea why it says you need 28 skewers. I couldn't even make 4 with 1 lb of lamb. But it was perfect for me and my man. Very juicy, great flavor. If you have a family I would make 2 lbs. I served with yogurt sauce I made, grilled pita breads, lettuce, tomato, and cucumber.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Jodie Perlow Mosk
Delicious! My family loved these and asked me to make them every week. I did use ground turkey instead of lamb. I add one egg per pound of meat and also used fresh mint. The flavor was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Mindi Barth Maline
We made these with half ground beef and half ground turkey. They came out great! An excellent recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: breggae
We love greek food, but certainly were not fond of this recipe. We all thought there was entirely too much cinnamon in it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes