My Reviews (45)

Simmered Pasta with Kielbasa

This is an interesting pasta stew I came up with when all I had was tomatoes and kielbasa. It's very warm and satisfying!
Reviews (45)


09 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: GINNYG
This is a really good recipe. I made a couple of changes, including using low-fat turkey kielbasa, mushrooms, garlic salt, red-pepper flakes, and a couple dashes of Essence. I also omitted the oil and used a non-stick skillet. Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
This was easy but I did not like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: grampnana
Sprayed pan with cooking spray and sauteed sausage; drained as much grease as possible. Put 1 large diced onion and one diced red bell pepper in pan with sausage and cooked until the tender; sprinkled with garlic powder. Used 1 can diced tomatoes and 15 oz can tomato sauce. Cooked whole grain penne separately and added in at end of cooking time. Hubby loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
Pretty good use of kielbasa. Someone was moving and gave me one so I tried this recipe. I added a green bell pepper and some dried herbs. I didn't have bow ties so I used another kind of pasta. Good and filling! Not sure if I'd make it again, but I enjoyed trying it out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: EMMALOPE
My mom and my husband loved it! I don't eat meat so I couldn't tell you how it was. I can tell you from the stand point of someone who hates to cook, it was simple and easy. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: MOMMADOT
LOVED this easy recipe. I did make some minor changes. I used turkey kielbasa instead of regular. I also used whole wheat rotini, a 28 oz. (undrained) can of diced tomatoes, fresh parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes and fresh cracked pepper along with the chopped onion and garlic. I cooked the rotini for nine minutes separately THEN added it to the sauce (which simmered covered while the pasta cooked). I added fresh parmesan cheese at the very end. My husband loves this and it doesn't elevate his blood sugar at all. SO easy. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: VEGETE
Super recipie! I added some things to liven it up a bit though. I added a cube of beef bouillon, along with some fresh celery, green bell peppers, and carrots. A dash of crushed red pepper gives it a nice kick as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: DEEDEE
fantastic for those chilly fall nights!!! we added chopped green pepper, celery, carrots, and extra cayenne pepper, basil and oregano for some kick. Also sliced sausage thinly so it would seem like more. very filling, stays with you :-) thankyou!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Duckball
I actually sort of combined two recipes for kielbasa, this one and Pinto Beans With Kielbasa with some additions and whatnot. First off, I omitted the garlic cloves and seasoned the dish with garlic powder when I salt-and-peppered it. Next, I added a diced up carrot and two stalks of celery, also diced, to the pan at the start. I used three 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes and no tomato sauce. I added a can of rinsed Great Northern beans to the mix. I added some Tex-Mex seasoning for a little kick. I followed the first step, then mixed everything except the pasta (I used large macaroni, about 1.5 or 2 cups uncooked, instead of bow ties) in the slow cooker. I cooked it on low for about 5 hours, then added the pasta which took 20 or 25 minutes to cook. It was wet enough that I didn't need to add any water. Turned out great, and reheated well. Thanks for a base recipe that's tasty and filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Graziela Cabral Mink
This recipe turned out really good! It was a change from the usual meat I use. My husband really loved it. I was looking for a way to use up my sausage. I did like someone else suggested by cooking the pasta seperate. This recipe actually tasted better the next day after the flavours mingle for a bit. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes