My Reviews (18)

Rum and Lime Cake

This is a simple pound cake recipe made special with the addition of lime juice and rum! Subtle, tropical and light, the perfect dessert!
Reviews (18)


30 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: JeniG
While this cake certainly had it's good points, overall I was a little disappointed. The flavor was certainly delicate, and would have appreciated a stronger lime taste. Maybe next time I will double the amount of lime zest I put in. The glaze was delicious, but I think I would also double the amount of glaze to make the cake more flavorful overall. As per other reviews, the cake was actually ready after about 75 minutes. It was a little dry I felt also. Sour cream as a replacement for milk may remedy this. I think I will try again and make some alterations as the cake does have potential.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: BAKEMEONE
I made this cake for my grandaughter's 18th birthday. She wanted a mexican meal and this cake was perfect for dessert. My daughter-in-law said this cake was refreshing. It is a pound cake with a light but distinguished flavor. It is added to my recipe box, a definate keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: HJV73
My boyfriend really enjoys key lime pies, so I put this together for him. Great recipe! Reminds me of my grandmother's pound cake, but with a key lime zing. He loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: STUCKEY
My family and friends rave about this cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: CherylM
I have been using this recipe for years and it's really one of the best ever. I bake and decorate cakes and the basic recipe (without the lime juice or zest) is my standard vanilla cake. It's perfect for all types of pans, carves easily and stacks well. It's versatile and can be altered to all sorts of flavors. That said, there are a few key points that I'd like to make. One is that when you cream the shortening, butter and sugar together it takes at least 5 minutes. Light and fluffy doesn't happen quickly. The beating incorporates air into the mix and that's what gives you a moist and tender cake. Turn the mixer on medium (4 on a Kitchen Aid) and walk away, clean up, mix your dry ingredients, whatever. Two is mixing according to the recipe, dry ingredients and then liquid, beginning and ending with dry. Beat at medium-low speed (3 on a KA) for about 40 seconds in between, and be sure to scrape down the bowl at least once. Third, you don't have to stir the juices and zests in at the end, you can just mix them into your milk after you measure the milk. The juices added to the milk will make the milk curdle and get thick (like buttermilk) and this is fine. Lastly, bake your cake at 325F with the oven rack in the center position and 65 minutes is the maximum. If your cake isn't done then you need to get an oven thermometer and test your oven. Hope this helps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2011
Reviewed by: CHELSEAK3
Delicious! I got rave reviews for this. I followed some of the other reviewers and used sour cream instead of milk, and also tripled the lime zest. It was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Kristin
Great cake. The only change I made was to drizzle it with coconut syrup after adding the lime glaze. The coconut syrup really brings it together. Baked in a tube pan, drizzled with the syrup, and garnished with lime it makes a beautiful and tasty cake
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: IAMTHEMOM1
Wonderful flavor. Baked at 325f. and the cake tested done in 1 hour and 15 minutes instead of the recommended 90 minutes. A bit n the dry side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Tracey721
It needs more key lime juice. Probably a 1/4 cup should do the trick and maybe using real rum as well or a rum extract and not "flavoring" should kick it up a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: deahdane@aol.com
cake was good. however it needs to be cooked for a little more than an hour and not 90 minutes. i liked the texture. but was looking for more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes