My Reviews (26)

Sweet Potato and Yoghurt Pancakes

Potato pancakes are a little different and special when made with sweet potato. There's a great comfort food side dish.
Reviews (26)


07 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Karina
Absolutely delicious! I was looking for a sweet potato latkes recipe because I can't have white potatoes due to allergy. I am so glad I found this and tried this recipe! I was eating them as I was cooking them and couldn't stop! Fortunately for others, I did not eat all of them up! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: lani
Fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly as it is the first time and made it with dehydrated onion the second time. I used local (Big Island) purple sweet potatoes I wasn't sure about the quantity of potatoes to use, so I added the potatoes a dollop at a time to the egg mixture until I had the consistency I wanted. I made it for the girls at book club when I was making French/Jewish (w/ a local twist) meal. It was a big hit, I'm glad there were leftovers for the family!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: KatieK
Yum! I added a little brown sugar as well, the second batch. A bit hit both ways!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: kandringa1
This was a great way to use a sweet potato. I didn't rinse the grated potato in salt water, and I added Mrs. Dash instead of pepper. The first four came out a little dark, but all the rest came out great! Served with unsweetened applesauce to balance the sweetness of the potato. A hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: snail
amazing, so easy, great with home made applesauce (see sarah's applesauce recipe) and a dollop of plain yogurt. yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: theoristician
These turned out delicious! I did need to add another egg, and maybe half an onion was a little too much for my tastes, but these are personal choices. For the yogurt topping, I strained the yogurt for a few hours mixed with a little sea salt, cayenne, and fresh parsley -- a rich, creamy, flavorful addition!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: lrosser311
Easy to make and yummy! Make sure the oil doesn't get too hot so they cook all the way through before you flip them. I didn't add onions and they came out just as good. Also, I didn't need any extra egg like another reviewer said. I think it depends on the size of the sweet potato you buy. Next time I make it I will be adding brown sugar. I didn't serve mine with yogurt and applesauce and they were just as good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: MaryO
This is a great recipe. I used Japanese sweet potatoes, an extra egg and fried in bacon grease-totally awesome. Next time I will experiment with some herbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Extra Foamy
These turned out quite tasty. Instead of small ones, I just made 4 large latkes. I didnt' want to fry them, so I cooked them on my pancakes griddle for about 5 minutes per side and finished them off in the oven. Great taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: MaLizGa
My husband likes these more than potato latkes. I chose to do sweet potato to avoid all the straining (and they're healthier than potatoes); for that matter, I also used pre-minced onion - great idea! I used three eggs because my sweet potato was really large, but then I had issues with them not binding, so I sprinkled in some matzah meal. I also like the fact that it's more a pan fry than a deep fry - they 're not as horribly (deliciously) greasy as regular latkes. I'll be making these again for the eighth night of Hanukkah!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes