My Reviews (569)

Basic Tomato Spaghetti Sauce

A really lovely and simply pasta or lasagne sauce. If you're vegetarian it tastes great with out the meat! Just substitute two tablespoons olive oil for the beef.
Reviews (569)


12 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: POLARBEE
I was looking for something a little different for a meatsauce but unfortunately this won't be it. I think this would make an awesome base for chili if you added some chili powder and cayenne but as a pasta sauce it was lacking for our tastes. I even added some red pepper flakes after cooking and it still was very bland. We'll continue to look for another sauce ... thanks anyway!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: michellew
Very good. I added Italian sausage as well and free-poured some red wine, added chopped carrots and asparagus. Also cut down on the sugar. Next time will try some mushrooms and in the slow cooker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: SHEILAANN
I USED A CAN OF PASTE AND CUT THE SUGAR IN HALF. ALSO, I DON'T EAT GROUND BEEF, BUT I DO LIKE THE BOCA VEGGIE GROUND BURGER (SOY PRODUCT) AND USED IT IN THIS RECIPE. YOU'D NEVER KNOW YOU WEREN'TEATING BEEF (MY HUSBAND DOESN'T EVEN KNOW THE DIFFERENCE). I THREW ALL INGREDIENTS INTO CROCKPOT; 1 LB FROZEN BURGER, 2 WHOLE ONIONS (I DON'T CARE TO EAT ONION SLICES IN SPAGHETTI SAUCE) AND I USED HALF A SMALL BAG OF FROZEN SLICED RED, GREEN AND YELLOW PEPPERS INSTEAD OF FRESH GREEN AND COOKED ON LOW FOR 5 HOURS. THIS WAS DYNAMITE!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: BLUESTINGRAY
This was an excellent recipe. I added some celery and fresh mushrooms and I let it cook all day in my slow cooker while I was at work. Turned out really well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: KimmyK
This sauce is just AWESOME!!!! My husband HATES red sauce and absolutely fell in love with this one!!! What a hit!!! Thanks Sheri!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Jenny
This was very good. I also added black and green olives. Although I wouldn't say that this was "to die for" sauce, I will be making it again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: KIMSLIE
This is a great recipe for pasta sauce. The only thing that I didn't like about it (easily fixable), was that with the amount of sugar added I did end up with a really sweet sauce. I prefer not as sweet a sauce, next time I'll just cut back on the sugar a little. Thank you for posting this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: ROW42
Very tasty but I would use a little less sugar in the recipe. I also added mushrooms and wine. We doubled the recipe, and it still turned out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: BCARLIES
All I can say about this receipe is EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes