My Reviews (569)

Basic Tomato Spaghetti Sauce

A really lovely and simply pasta or lasagne sauce. If you're vegetarian it tastes great with out the meat! Just substitute two tablespoons olive oil for the beef.
Reviews (569)


21 May 2002
Reviewed by: WORDS2INSPIRE
This was a great spegetti sauce. Easy to prepare and my kids loved it. I don't have a blender so the tomatoes were a little big, but still all in all great stuff!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Hepzibah
A truly good recipe, made even better if prepared in the slow-cooker. Instead of sugar, I use the advice an elderly Italian lady gave to me many years ago -- to add a generous spoonful of grape jam. You'll never be able to detect it, but it makes a wonderful difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Corvette Girl
I am Italian and come from a big family of great Italian-American cooks. I never heard of making homemade sauce using stewed tomatoes, so I tried this recipe out of curiosity....not a favorite, sorry. I suggest using the crushed tomatoes, tomato puree (in place of stewed tomatoes), a small tomato paste and then fill paste can with warm water, and add that as well. My family does put 2 TBSP sugar in our sauce recipe, but stewed tomatoes already have sugar added, so maybe this is why others have said this is too sweet? And always start your sauce by sauteing the fresh garlic with about 1/4 c. olive oil, that gives the sauce a wonderful taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: eastncgal
This is an excellent basic recipe. You can either do a lot with it by adding more spices, or you have make "as is" and it is wonderful. I left out the sugar, and added a pinch of baking soda instead, as suggested by another reviewer. What a great tip! If you don't like a real sweet sauce, but want to tame the bitterness, baking soda does the trick. I went with one onion and one green pepper, a bit heavier on the oregano, basil and garlic to suit my family's taste. I also used ground turkey in place of ground beef and it turned out great. Couldn't tell it was ground turkey, the family didn't know. Much healthier, and easier on the budget. I often make this substitution in meat sauces when I want to go lighter. Overall, this is an easy, versatile recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2008
Reviewed by: AUSSIEMUM1
Very good. However, IT NEEDS SALT. The perfect ratio I've found for our tastes is - 1 tablespoon of sugar = 2 teaspoons of salt. Try it! I used one onion and one bell pepper. I considered chopping them by hand, but why bother when I've got a food processor? I blitzed it in a few seconds, removed the veges and then blitzed the tomatoes. Yum. UPDATE: I consistently use this recipe every single time when I make spaghetti, it's that good. Always with my sugar/salt ratio also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: KAWAIIKAMI
This was fabulous all alone but I added some red pepper flakes that came from a pizza delivery and that added a teeny spark to this wonderful recipe. I will keep this and always use it until it is committed to memory!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: G-ma
This is a very good recipe. I am diabetic, therefore sugar is not an option for me. I peeled and shredded 2 med size carrots instead of the sugar. It gives it great flavor and natural sugars. I will use this recipe again. My family enjoyed it very much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: bferris19
Great and basic sauce and as the submitter advises you MUST add the full amount of sugar. The secret of any good lasagne, & what makes it different than other Italian sauces, is the sugar. I use dark brown sugar, light brown sugar, white sugar, sometimes even Karo syrup to sweeten my sauces to different degrees and for different recipes. That's what separates really "cooking" from just opening up a jar of Ragu!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Billrob_15
Wonderful as written. Only minor changes I made (our tastes) was brown vs white sugar and 1tbs vinegar to meld flovours. I used crock pot on low for 3 hours. Company raved.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Lori
I made this for dinner and was very disappointed. Following the directions as written yielded a very bland sauce with little body. I added more seasoning after the initial tasting, and it really did little to help the taste. It was requested by my family to not make this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes