My Reviews (19)

Easy Potato Pancakes

Potato pancakes, or latkes, are found in cuisines around the world. They make a great lunch or breakfast side dish. You can also flavour them with garlic.
Reviews (19)


26 May 2012
Reviewed by: Astheart
Very popular in the Czech Republic! Thousands of recipes. But definitely, you must add garlic and dried marjoram here! Some people add salami or bacon cut in small pieces (bacon is supposed to be fried before).Onion not necessary. Everybody loves it! WE don´t use too much flour. The dough must be spreadable. And then you can really feel potatoes in the pancakes, not like flour dough. Spoon dough straight into the frying pan with hot oil and spread it by a spoon to make a round shape.
 
10 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: MsChessy
These are very close to the original recipe. The only thing I would do would use matzo meal instead of flour. It really does make a big difference
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Katherine
Very excellent recipe! Worked wonderfully, turned out very tasty & crisp. Only thing I will say is I had to use a LOT more than 2 tablespoons of flour- though that could just be my preference. I was very pleased with how this turned out, they taste just like I remember them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Kath
I thought theses were delicious. I used a gluten free flour mix, but it took way more than two tbsp of flour to make the potatoes stick together. Also, before adding the other ingredients, I rinsed the potatoes and onions in water and let drain, so some of the the starch was removed. I used to see both my grandmothers do this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Jody
This is the best latke recipe I've tried and it's the easiest too. I took others' advice and used matzo meal, as I had some on hand, and just added it until I had the consistency I wanted. I usually drain the potatoes and onions, but decided not to. It left the mix really soupy, but I just grabbed a bunch of mix and squeezed the excess liquid out. By keeping it all in the liquid, it actually kept the mixture from turning that ugly brown that it usually does. Needless to say, I've found my new recipe that I will use from here on out! My husband tasted and said they are the best I've ever made!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: georgia
Way too much egg for the amount of potatoes, I tried again using 1 egg and they turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: pelicangal
Sorry but we thought that these were bland. If I make them again I would probably tweak them and them and add some parmesan or maybe some jalapeno. Thanks for posting the recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: CherryBomb
Fantastic! My husband and I really enjoyed dinner tonight I altered the recipe to adjust to my flavor craving taste buds I used 2 cups total grated veggie--1.5 cups potato and half a cup of grated zucchini, only used two eggs, didn't bother to dry off the grated mix (added just a touch more flour instead), added a bit of nutmeg to the mix as well as some pepper and onion powder. Reduced the salt to 1 tsp. served with nonfat plain yogurt instead of sour cream as it was what I had in the fridge. I can highly recommend this dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: BUBBAWUBBEE
EXCELLANT I make this recipe with one tweak... I do not drain my potatoes, result: crisp, crispy thin patties, so crunchy & when eaten with catsup are ALMOST as good as served traditionally!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: SusannahLocketti
These were featured on the Better Show today! So yummy. A classic latke recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes