My Reviews (12)

Banana Cake with Walnuts

This recipe makes a delectably moist banana cake which tastes great with a fresh cup of coffee. Perfect for afternoon tea.
Reviews (12)


21 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: DAVEP1941
I made a double batch, used two 9.5X13 pyrex baking dishes, cut the baking time down a full ten minutes. Cake in both dishes were moist and friends gave high ratings for the texture and flavor. I live in a Senior Apartment Building where we pay for a daily lunch. I gave our Head cook a copy of the receipe plus a large sample of the cake. She was very surprise afterr reading the receipe and then tasting the actual cake. I am hoping now that will one of these days she will serve this banana cake as a dessert to the rest of residents in my Apartment complex. Dave Poletti
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: ScreamingBanshee
This recipe is absoulutely wonderful!! Basic ingredients come together to make a great tasting, not too sweet, exceedingly moist cake. I did leave out the walnuts and topped the cake with chocolate frosting and chopped peanuts. Definitely five stars!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: MEAUXJEAUX
This cake was delicious. Instead of using a tube pan (or bundt pan, for us laypeople), I used two 9" rounds and baked for about 25 minutes. Once they cooled, I iced them with a cream cheese icing I found on another site. Very moist. Would make again instead of banana bread next time I have overripe bananas on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I used all butter and I added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. This did need another 1/2 c. of cake flour only because this batter was really wet. I had some maple granola I wanted to use, so I sprinkled it over the top of each loaf before baking. Otherwise, I made no other changes. I baked this divided into two loaf pans as to give them for gifts for Christmas. I'll update my review when I hear back how it went over. NOTE: One box of Softasilk cake flour is the perfect amount for six loaves of this cake, 2 1/2 c. of flour for each batch. This is also good using buttermilk instead of evaporated milk, if you ran out by the third batch like I did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Eva
What a great recipe! Amazingly moist and sweet but not too sweet. I drizzled it with cream cheese icing and some chopped pecans (see my photo) and served it at a get-together. There was NOTHING left! I will absolutely be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: ReyAn-CA
Really, really good! Pleasantly sweet: somewhere between a bread and a cake, so that you can eat a piece for breakfast, or serve it after dinner (or... eat it for snack, anytime!). Nice! Made a couple key changes... (1) Substitute 1 3/4Cup all-purpose flour + 3/4Cup cornstarch (yes, cornstarch!) for the 2Cups cake flour (which I never have!). Googled this substitute. (2) Increased vanilla to 1 tsp (1/2 tsp just not enough for this large batter... prob could have used even more!?). (3) 1Cup smashed bananas are approx. 3 medium. Good 'n black... that's what I say! (4) Chopped walnuts kind of small. (5) Used a greased 9" x 13" pan (didn't have a tube/Bundt pan!, and decreased bake time by 7 mins, and let cool in the pan. Really came out great!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Kristy Ann Cantrell
I don't know why but it was very dry? I'm not using this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
Very nice cake! I had 3 overripe bananas, and I felt like using them in something today instead of tossing them in the freezer like I do half the time. I had everything called for in this recipe, so I happily mixed away. Turned out perfectly baked in 45 minutes (amazing! My oven NEVER bakes it at the time directed!) and was very moist and flavorful. Doesn't need frosting or anything. Hubs enjoyed, as did our dog (he loves bananas, and was begging . . .). Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: MummyJacks
WHY-YOU-EMM! YUM!!! Sorry had to spell that out to get the point across! I also made this with a coffee-butter chocolate frosting, couldn't have been better, it was truly a coffee cake. Will definately make again when I have the ingredients on hand. Oh yeah, and I opted out of the walnuts. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Siggy
This was excellent - with and without the coffee! Very moist and wonderful flavor! I had just shy of 1c. evap milk, so topped it off with half-and-half. I will make this again often. A nice chocolate glaze on top would be a perfect addition, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes