My Reviews (19)

Homemade Chicken Liver Pate

You want to make your own pate but don't have access to goose or duck liver? Try this great substitute. Serve with sliced baguettes, capers, cream cheese, thinly sliced spring onions and caviar.
Reviews (19)


07 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: GeorgieGirlNZ
Although I skip the whole step with the milk and don't bother with the livers going in and out of the pan more than once, this pate is far superior to any I've made before. I've been taking it to parties over the last few months because after the first try all my friends requested it. A chef trained in classical French method told me it was the best she'd ever had. Thanks Jo!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Susan
Very good! The second time I made it I used fresh sage because it was all I hade and that was tasty too. The capers seem to make the difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I'm happy to be the first to review this recipe because it was fabulous! I have a weakness for pate and this did not disappoint! The addition of wine and capers gave the pate a wonderful flavor. Thank you so much! YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Smokin w/ Wood
Apparently I saved the WRONG recipe..Sorry
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Trjegul
This a very good all around chicken pate recipe. I have made a lot of different types. I think most people would like this recipe. I added some fresh lemon juice, just my preference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Lessir
Wow; Wow; Wow. What can I say this is a dynamite recipe. From a man's perspective with the usual 2 left thumbs this was easy to make and tastes out of this world. Thank you for sharing your recipe. Perhaps this would qualify as "Man Tested" Regards Peter
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: cammerfe
This is ALMOST as good as 'Fritz's Pate' from the Nero Wolfe cookbook and costs about one tenth as much. It'll be my 'go-to' recipe for all but the very most festive occasions. KS
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Jennifer Weiss
THIS PATE IS FAB-U-LOSO!! I have a keen appreciation for pate and this recipe does not disapoint. I made certain to soak the livers for several hours (at least 4) in milk and it's very important not to rinse before adding to the skillet. Also, very important to use a good wine as the flavor will be concentrated. Crappy wine = crappy flavor. I've made this dish with pork livers as well, and while it was also excellent, I personally perfer the flavor of chicken livers as opposed to pork. I've shared this recipe with several of my family and friends and they too claim its the best and easiest (least involved) pate they've made. Good job! Gold stars all around!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Janet
This is the most delicious pate I have ever eaten. I made it to be used in a Beef Wellington recipe. It made the Wellington wonderful and the leftover pate was a big hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Nana Lynda
Love this recipe but I did change it a little...deglazed the pan with brandy instead of wine and, after I cooled the liver mixture I added 2 tsp. of brandy and 1/4 cup of cold butter to the food processor. Makes a beautiful smooth texture, adds creaminess and a hint of brandy flavour.Grand Marnier instead of brandy also works well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes