My Reviews (50)

Polenta Cake

Here's a great cake made with polenta. Lovely for either breakfast or dessert and not too sweet so it goes very well with maple syrup!
Reviews (50)


06 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: AnitaEvaHorvath
Thank you for the recipe. I used less milk and a round cake tin but came out perfect. It was lovely with some jam.
 
11 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: pteclaire
Thanks for the recipe...it tasted just like the one Mom made...we ate it warm like cornbread. Must be quite yummy with syrup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: MARYB75
I was looking for a good cornbread recipe for a family get together. It was a toss up between this recipe and another one using frozen corn. So I made both and without a doubt, this recipe is superior. So moist and sweet--the best! Definitely a keeper--thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: mommymeggy
I've made this many times and it's a sweeter, moister replacement to cornbread on your table. FYI, I had always put the ingredients together the complicated way as directed in the recipe, but I was short on time tonight and just basically threw all the ingredients in and it turned out the exact same. Much simpler!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Chocolate Moose
I made this a 5 star recipe by adding corn. It was very good. I added 1 can of whole kernel and a lil extra sugar and flour. yummmmmmmm.......
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: mizliz
I use substitutes, such soy milk, egg replacer, and nucoa(milk free margarine), and rice flour...and they do not always fare well with baking recipes. But I cut back a tad on baking powder when I use egg replacer...and all worked great. I am glad to share johnny cake with my kids with allergies
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Natalie Sacha
This Johnny cake is very easy to make and wonderful. It's good served with spicy foods like Jerk chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Jill R.
This may be called "Johnny Cake," but I couldn't tell anything that made it different from regular ol' cornbread. Pretty good cornbread, although it's a bit denser than I thought it would be. (I'd like to find a cornbread recipe a little moister and lighter.) Also note, this recipe cooks a lot faster than the recipe says--mine was done in 30 minutes, and perhaps I could have taken it out even sooner. Another note--I thought it would be pretty sweet with a half cup of sugar, but it wasn't for some reason.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: HWINTERS
My mom used to make Johnny Cake when I was a kid. I was craving some comfort food the other day and thought of this. I couldn't find my mom's recipe so I used this one. Don't tell mom but I think this one is better. It is light, tastey and absolutely wonderful warm with real maple syrup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: fredobanana
This is a fantastic recipe. I made it to take on a canoe trip, and it was quite excellent even after five days of being beaten around in the food pack.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes