My Reviews (233)

Walnut Sour Cream Cake

The sour cream makes this a very moist coffee cake recipe. The perfect thing to share with friends over a cup of tea or coffee.
Reviews (233)


18 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: TAMI426
I've been using this recipe for about 5 years, and it's always a hit. I double it and bake it in a bunt pan. Fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: s. warren
This is a wonderful coffee cake! I too opted for the brown sugar instead of the confectioners. Also used light sour cream. The batter is very thick so it's a little difficult to spread especially when spreading the final layer atop the crumb mixture. But it turns out incredibly moist and LIGHT! Checked it at 35 minutes... let it cook 5 more and it was perfect. Cooled for 10 minutes before cutting. I'll be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: littlehemmy
WONDERFUL recipe! I put in about 1 1/4 cups of sour cream to make it a bit more moist. Also- mix the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture with some melted butter to form a soft crumble. I put some of the crumble in the bottom of a bundt pan, then 1/2 the batter, then more crumble, then the rest of the batter. Baked it for 55 minutes- it came out beautifully and it was a big hit! Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2008
Reviewed by: DebraKay
I quadrupled this recipe for 10 teenagers staying at my house and baked it in 2 9X13 pans. Delicious! Moist! Easy! - I did add a bit more sour cream than called for. I also had trouble smoothing the top layer over the crumbly middle (which I used 1/2 XX sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, cinnamon and no nuts). The TIP: wet fingers often to smooth top layer of batter - works perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2002
Reviewed by: ROUMELIS
Outstanding! I substituted brown sugar for the powedered sugar and it turned out great. However, I was horrified to see the amount of fat in each serving so I modified the recipe a little more the second time. I substituted low-fat plain yoghurt for the sour cream. Wonderful results!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Akiko Ono
This cake is easy to make and tastes great! I substitute butter, sour cream for vegetable oil and non fat yogurt respectively. It's still moist and taste wonderful. I'm sure I will bake this cake again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2003
Reviewed by: jharris
I thought this was pretty good. I just wasn't crazy about the confectioner's sugar. Next time, I will try it with the brown sugar instead. I baked mine in a 2 qt baking dish and an hour was too long, the cake was too dry. 45 min. would be sufficient.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: JACKIE1115
This recipe was wonderful! I cant say anything bad about it- i did use brown sugar and cinnamon instead of confectioners sugar- it tasted wonderful- ill second the notion and THANK SARAH!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Jessica
Wonderfully tastey and very easy to make! This coffee cake is a family favorite! I use brown sugar instead of powder sugar, and I sometimes use plain or vanilla flavored yogurt in place of the sourcream depending on what I have on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Maddy
BEST Coffee Cake EVER! And I don't mean the best coffee cake I have ever made, because this is the first coffee cake I've ever made, but best coffee cake I've ever TASTED. Wow! I too added an extra 1/4 cup of sour cream (for a total of 1 1/4 cups) and doubled the cinnamon mixture for a thicker layer inside. For the cinnamon mixture, I omitted the nuts, since I didn't have any that were fresh, swapped brown sugar for confectioner's sugar, and added 1 tbsp of dark corn syrup to help the mixture stay a little gooey once the cake was cool. I checked the cake after 30 minutes and cooked it for a total of 45 minutes. Then once the cake was cooled for 15 minutes, I glazed it with a mix of confectioner's sugar, a little water, and a drop of lemon extract. Delicious!! The boyfriend was thrilled, too! I will make this recipe again and again. Thanks, Sal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes