My Reviews (132)

Mashed Strawberry Cake

This is a delicious and not-too-sweet strawberry cake covered with tart lemon icing and sprinkled with toasted slivered almonds. You can use white sugar if you prefer, but I like raw because it is more flavourful.
Reviews (132)


17 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: JimMcgrory
this cake is amazing, 5 guys demolished 1st cake in minutes
 
11 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Byrc
Easy, moist, delicious cake - perfect for afternoon tea. My husband really enjoyed this cake and ate it without frosting/icing. I preferred fresh whipped cream over the lemon frosting. Excellent recipe.
 
17 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: KATERINAJB
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday this past weekend, and it turned out great! The only reason I gave it four stars rather than five is that I made a few changes to the recipe that I think made it better. Acknowledging some of the previous reviews, I increased the ingredients by half by scaling the recipe to yield 36 servings instead of 24. With the increased amount of batter, I was able to make a layer cake. I also used strawberry yogurt instead of sour cream and added the juice from the bags of frozen strawberries I used. I chopped the berries rather than mashing them. I also used about half a small bottle of strawberry extract. The flavor was still subtle, so I'm glad I added that. I added a little extra flour to compensate for the extra liquid. I also used 2 parts baking soda and 1 part baking powder for a lighter texture. Also, be sure to beat the batter well to make the cake nice and fluffy. We used cream cheese frosting and it was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Mimosa
Delicious cake - moist, fragrant, tasty, just sweet enough ( I used 3/4 cup of fine white sugar to make it.) In spite of my miscalculations (I baked it in a 7-inch springform pan, which required 15 minutes more baking time than the recipe says), the cake rose to the top of the pan and came out fine, at least I think so. I did not frost it but served each slice with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and puréed fresh strawberries. After refrigerating what was left, we found out that the cake was very nice when warmed up for a few second in the microwave: the fragrance of the strawberries comes out beautifully. I'll surely make it everytime strawberries are in season.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: TXN
I went looking for a strawberry cake for my husband's birthday and found this recipe. It looked easy and I liked the fact that it did not use gelatin or packaged cake mix. The only change I made to the recipe was to use chopped strawberries instead of mashed and making two 9" cakes instead of a sheet cake. It was a hit; several guests came back for seconds. The texture was great - dense but not too rich. And the taste of the lemon glaze was perfectly suited to the strawberry cake. My husband has declared this cake his new favorite. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2002
Reviewed by: SPIKERDINK
What a great recipe! We made it for friends after a big dinner, and it was an immediate hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. We cut the sugar back to 1 cup (and could have cut it a little more). The one thing we found was that there was not enough icing. We doubled the recipe, and that made plenty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2007
Reviewed by: Modemom
Very, very disappointed in this recipe. I chose it because I DID NOT want a strawberry cake made with white cake mix and gelatin. I followed the directions, except for adding some chopped strawberries along with the mashed strawberries to give it more strawberry flavor. After the 30 minutes of cooking, the whole cake was very brown but not done in the middle. So, I had 2 choices - one, let the cake burn to get the center cooked, or take it out then and have the center not be completely cooked. So, now that the cake has cooled, the center has dropped. And, as you know, the cake is not more than an inch thick to begin with, so this cake will NEVER make it to the picnic I had been planning on taking it to. I am not an amateur cook, so I know how to adjust things, but this one was a complete disaster. If I could just frost it, then it would be fine, but the center of the cake is not even 1/2" thick. I had decided ahead of time not to make the glaze because of reviews about it. Very sad that this did not turn out like most of the reviews had said it would.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: BICHON22
I made this for a New Year's get-together with some friends, and it was a big hit. The coloring that turbinado sugar made it resemble something like strawberry bread. It was very moist and not too sweet. I wanted to make a 2 layer cake, so I applied what little geometry I remembered to see how much cake batter I would need for 2 9-inch round pans with 1.5" depth. I added 50% to the batter ingredients and it was just about perfect. I also wanted to use a real frosting on it, so I made the Buttercream Icing recipe from this site. I added in approximately 1/2 cup of non-sweetened strawberry puree (a defrosted 20 oz. bag of frozen strawberries makes about 1.5 cups of puree). That did thin the frosting up a bit, but not too much--I guess I could have added a little more confectioner's sugar to thicken it, but it was still okay for frosting the 2 layers. All in all, I was very pleased (especially considering this was my first cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: ASSUMPTA
This is great, You don't know how hard it is to find a REAL strawberry cake recipie, one that does not call for a cake mix or strawberry geletin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2001
Reviewed by: JORIERAINE
I've made this cake 3 times. My husband really likes this cake made with fresh strawberries. The only problem is that the cake is somewhat dense/heavy. Next time I make it I will try adding baking powder to see if that makes a difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes