My Reviews (27)

Marinated Grilled Mackerel

This easy marinade gives a lovely taste and texture to grilled or barbecued mackerel. Yellow tail, tuna or salmon are also good for this recipe.
Reviews (27)


31 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Billie Nguyen
This sauce is soooo awesome. I used salmon & broiled in oven - it caramelized the sauce & made the fish so tasty, especially over rice and steamed veggies. I used light soy sauce. Also boiled remaining marinade to use as sauce on the side. Easy weeknight recipe, but I would definitely serve to friends too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2002
Reviewed by: BABYCHUB
This is a really good sauce! I used it to marinate a whole fish that had slits cut on the side. I also added a bit more ginger, only because I do like my ginger I steamed the fish and with the leftover sauce, I added some cornstarch and water to make a thicker sauce to drizzle over after serving. Low fat and good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Katherine
We were given some free "just-caught" mackerel by some local fishermen - I had never eaten or cooked mackerel before - and this was a very tasty recipe! I cut slits in the skin of the mackerel as suggested by other reviewers. I didn't have mirin so substituted white wine. I thought the soya sauce would be overpowering but it wasn't at all. It is a good recipe to eat while watching a DVD at home, as you really do need to "pick through the bones" slowly with mackerel.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Yuki
The sauce was good, but it was a bit too sweet for our taste since the mirin was already sweet to begin with. The taste also didn't stay with the fish, it was rather bland unless you dip it into the sauce... Next time I'd try slicing the side of the fish before marinating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Tezuka
This was sooo good and easy! I omitted the extra sugar and added a tsp of chinese chili paste as well. Grilled it, basted it and ate it over steamed rice with Japanese broccoli. My husband wanted more, but I ate it all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: GUIO
This recipe worked great on salmon. I used some of the cooked sauce on white rice and it was delicious. The salmon turned out juicy and well cooked.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DATIGZ
Very good! I find mackerel very fatty, and this seemed to cut down on the greasy taste! Easy to prepare too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Stefania
Very easy to make and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Marieclaire0924
This was a great marinade for the mackerel! We absolutely loved it. We cooked the fish on the grill and it had an amazing taste. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: XMASRED
Terrific marinade. I used this to marinate salmon fillet, and it was A-#1 in flavor. Thanks for the great post, Jana.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes