My Reviews (90)

Chicken and Prawn Jambalaya with Linguine

This is a delicious spin on the Cajun dish called Jambalaya only it uses pasta instead of rice. You can adjust the amount of heat to taste.
Reviews (90)


08 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: lizz
I'm from Louisiana and this recipe is called Pastalaya, not Jambalasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
Excellent! I made this as directed except I skipped the cornstarch (maybe my tomatoes, but I didn't need it), and tossed my sauce with the linguine. I also added the shrimp in the last few minutes with the pasta - I think they could have gotten too done as written. Anyway, fabulous idea and flavors - my guys were thrilled. I threw some chopped green and yellow peppers and chopped parsely on when I served it. Thanks for the recipe - nicely done!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: kathysmallbone
I used rotini pasta instead of linguine because I like the way it holds the sauce. I didn't use chicken, but it was still yummy with just the shrimp and sausage. It was spicy, but my picky daughter liked it too. It made the house smell great while it was cooking. Will definitely make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: LMF443
I really enjoyed this and had all the ingredients on hand! I made a roux instead of using corn starch and I used beer instead of water (beer makes everything taste better). Finally, I added a splash of cream at the end because I realized I added too much hot sauce and needed to mellow it out. Got great reviews from everyone I served it to. The sauce was flavorful and spicy. Served it with some roasted asparagus but next time I think throwing vegetables right into the sauce would be better--but that’s the Yankee in me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: bikerchickie
Kids thought it was too spicy, husband and I LOVED it. Even better a day or two later as leftovers with a bit of cheese grated on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Donna Graffagnino
Recipe is great for the most part, but to be truly authentic 'Pastalaya' as it's called in Louisiana, firm short pasta should be used because long spaghetti, linguini, fettuccini noodles will break up and get kind of mushy. Also, Kebalsa and Cajun just don't do together Shaa, so please use Andouille or a good smoked sausage and you'll have yourself a delicious, authentic Cajun Pastalaya that everyone will love. My pasta preference is Penne or Ziti, but Rotini and Bowtie is also good. Cest bon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: ray saldi
First I am not a big fan of rice. When I saw this recipe I had to try it and it was the hit of the evening. The only change I made was cooking the tomatoes about 40 min and then added the shrimp. Keep up the good work
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2014
Reviewed by: Bev Clarke-MacNeil
Can I give this a 5+++? This is amazing. My husband asked for jambalaya but does not like rice so I searched for a recipe that was made with pasta instead and found this one. I invited all my kids home for dinner==>I have 3 grown sons so I tripled the recipe. Fantastic. Only change I made was that I used penne pasta rather than linguini (hubby's preference). Been making it for almost 3 years now and never get tired of it. A friend of my sons has had it and then ordered at a restaurant. He told the staff they needed to ask me for my recipe cuz theirs didn't even come close. If you get the chance you have to make this. RAESIVE thank you for sharing this. YUMMY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: heiff
We've made this a couple of times now, and it's absolutely delicious. It makes a great "one course dinner". The second time I prepared it, I made the following modifications: Added 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (gives it some heat, which we found to be just right). Added 1/2 cup chicken broth (I used bouillon) and a splash of sherry, plus 2 Tbsp cornstarch dissolved in 1/2 cup water (as written, this sauce is a bit dry). As others have mentioned, this recipe needs peppers! I chopped up some small sweet peppers which were a great addition. I reduced the amount of pasta to 16oz, which is quite enough. That extra 8oz of pasta the recipe calls for is literally 8oz too much. We blended all the sauce and pasta together and found the proportion of sauce to pasta to be very good. I used orecchiette this time, but the linguine is also good - they each hold the sauce a bit differently.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: April Ard Louviere
Delish! It made a lot of food so it would be good to feed a crowd! I wanted a little more spice though. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes