My Reviews (2,557)

Homemade Meatballs in Tomato Sauce

This is a recipe I got from my mother years ago -- it's great. Homemade meatballs are simmered in a deliciously rich tomato sauce.
Reviews (2557)


03 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: KerryHancock
The only tiny change was to bake the meatballs on a tray at 180°C for 20 mins then into the sauce. They don't break up & a fair deal of fat come out during the baking. Great recipe, we loved it
 
20 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Laura.e
love this dish it's a favourite, great for leftovers the next day.. I make my meatballs a little smaller, love them
 
18 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: Donsmau
Pretty good. I wanted a meatball recipe that you could do in the oven (thanks @KerryHancock). A bit too sweet for me, and no fresh herbs. What Are we meant to do with the 1/4 onion?!
 
30 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: Jakmac
Loved the dish, and have used it twice before making small changes. I added 1/2 very finely chopped onion to the meatballs and used pork mince. i added one teaspoon of dried oregano leaves to the sauce, half a cup of chicken stock, no sugar and halved the salt to a good pinch.
 
08 May 2004
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
I was leary of making this without first pre-cooking the meatballs, but this is by far the best spaghetti and meatballs I have ever made. The meatballs ended up a nice brown color, they were not over cooked and I think putting them in before browning allowed some of the meat flavor to seep into the sauce. I great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: thedailygourmet
Five star rating is based on the following changes. Instead of using all ground beef, I opted to use a combination of ground pork and ground beef (12 oz ground beef, 4 oz ground pork) -instead of plain bread crumbs, I used pre-seasoned breadcrumbs, I increased the parmesan cheese to 4 oz. With the sauce, instead of using 2 (28 oz) cans of whole tomatoes, I used 1 (28 oz can) of whole tomatoes, and then two smaller cans (14 oz) of crushed tomatoes. After simmering the sauce, I ran half of it through the blender to make it smoother. I also added a small can of tomato sauce in addition to the tomato paste, plus for added flavour I added 1 tsp italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp basil, and 1 tsp garlic powder. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: tanker_wife
This was absolutly the most wonderful spaghetti. This was my first time making homemade spaghetti. I work long hours and don't have time at night to make a 2 hour meal, so what I did was use my slow cooker. In the morning i sauteed my onion and garlic, combined it with all the ingredience including half a can of tomato sauce for extra liquid since it tends to lose some in a slow cooker. Had my husband turn the cooker on low at his lunch, so the sauce cooked about 6 1/2 hours. one hour before the sauce was done, he put the meat balls in. We did end up adding the extra half a can of sauce just for liquid, but the flavor was amazing. By using the slow cooker for us working cooks, it was nice to come home to a ready made meal and good as this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: Karen Singh Burchowycz
This sauce was very easy to make and quite delicious. I do agree with some reviews that the meatballs were a bit bland, but to each his own, my husband liked them. I will never use bottled sauce again, that's for sure. Note: to others who who mentionned they substituted turkey or other poultry for ground beef ... you are never supposed to use breadcrumbs, that type of meat is quite dry, breadcrumbs only makes it worse!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: MUSIC_MINX
For Celeste, who found the meatballs too dry, may I suggest adding 1/2 cup of water, or milk, or tomato sauce to the meatballs? The eggs will bind them, but not make them moister - adding liquid makes them exquisitely tender and juicy. Also, if you want a lighter meatball, substitute oatmeal for the breadcrumbs - measure it first, then run it briefly in the blender so you won't have any big bits in the meatballs. I added 1.5 tsp oregano and 3 tsp basil; added 1 tsp seasoned salt, 1 medium green pepper. I was very, very happy with the sauce. Put it into a 250 degree oven while I cooked other stuff, for about 2 hours,it was wonderful. :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: elaina r j
Oh wow! These meatballs were phenomenal. I coated them in flour and sauteed them in olive oil first to seal in juices. I rolled them about the size of a silver dollar. This will be something I make often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes