My Reviews (15)

Wild Rice Soup

Corn, chopped onions and carrots are simmered in chicken stock with wild rice and spices in this soup. Best served garnished with fresh salsa.
Reviews (15)


04 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Very good soup!!! I didn't have any frozen corn so I used 1 can of corn (drained) and I used 1 (4oz) can of green chiles instead of 1/2c. I also added a little more carrots and added a green bell pepper (chopped). ALSO, I grilled some chicken seasoned with cajun seasonings, cubed it and added that too! VERY GOOD! Not too spicy but a nice "warm." Instead of salsa, I sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese overall. Would make again! Thanks Corwynn for another great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: LiveToBless
I used less celery and onion and probably a little more rice. EXCELLENT for a cold night. Thick and yummy with crusty bread and butter on the side. Kids didn't complain too much either and it was nice to have a meat-less meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Soup Loving Nicole
This was good but it lacked something and I couldn't put my finger on what it was. I did run short on wild rice and threw in some brown but the rice wasn't the problem. I think next time I would lose the carrots and add rinsed black beans in the end instead? Anyway, I am giving it a 4 because it was was very flavorable and easy to make and my hubby enjoyed it but it just lacked a little something to me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Ari
disregarded step1 and just everything in the pot for 30mins. served with fresh salsa, cheese and sour cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Mandy Stout Anderson
I made it creamy by sauteing the onions and adding flour and cooking that for a minute. Then at the end I added milk/cream. It was pretty amazing! Thanks for the idea
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: suz
easy ... great flavor. if you want fully vegetarian it's almost as good with veg-stock instead of chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2010
Reviewed by: Leslie Manor
Great weeknight dinner. I just use a box of the Uncle Ben's Wild Rice, and I added celery and garlic. I haven't tried it yet, but I bet this wold be good with some shredded chicken!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I loved how quick and simple this recipe was. I only made one change--I sauteed the onion, carrots and a little fresh minced garlic in a little EVOO before adding the other ingredients. The spices are spot on. Everything in this soup worked together very well. Though we liked this soup, both my husband and I were trying to figure out what it was missing. It's almost there......it just needs a little "oomph". As is, NO leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Elle
This was okay, but not to our taste. We had great hopes for this. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: lmac
A very easy dish to prepare. I used only one green chile pepper and added one can of rinsed black beans. Next time I make this I will pick up a bag of tortilla chips to crumble over the top to add a nice salty crunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes