My Reviews (168)

Butter Coffee Cake

This recipe is for a simple butter cake, perfect to serve to guests with tea or coffee. Easy to make, pretty and very delicious.
Reviews (168)


10 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: NOVICE1
Very good cake! Everyone thought it was shortcake for the strawberries. We were in a hurry--we used an electric mixer, and the cake was done within an hour. We doubled the recipe and used two nonstick pans-one greased with pam, one ungreased. Only the one in the greased pan came out cleanly. Make sure your pans are very well greased.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: STARFLOWER
Loved it! Similar to a sponge or crumb cake. Delicious even using margarine instead of butter. Make sure to beat the sugar/butter (or margarine) for a long time to incorporate air - it makes the cake come out light and fluffy (do not beat to much after adding flour though). Added only 1 Tb more milk. My husband said he "couldn't stop eating it." It is plenty sweet - sweetness just right. Baked it in a sprayed 8" sq glass pan - still gooey at 30 mins so I baked it 10 mins more (40 mins total). Will make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Kama Derksen
This is a great recipe- although when I was making it I "accidentally" added an extra 1 cup of milk! I don't regret that mistake; every time I make this cake I add an extra cup of milk. It makes it very moist and very delicious! I hope this helped!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: EJLOWN
A very good cake to enjoy with coffee or tea. A word of warning: this cake needs parchment paper lining. I didn't use it the first time and it stuck to the pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: TRELAINA
This is a wonderful recipe. It makes a nice sized cake for snacking or a small party. It isn't too sweet which is wonderful for tea & coffee. Its texture is similar to pound cake, but I wouldn't go so far as to state that it's "very dry & dense"...just a slightly heavier texture than your standard cake. I imagine it would turn out badly if it were overmixed -- I stirred in the flour & milk by hand so that wouldn't happen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Hattrickstriker
Excellent St Patty's Day finish! This cake was moist, delicious and stayed that way for a few days. Just sweet enough to enhance your tea and leave a nice aftertaste. Before sprinkling on the confectioner's sugar, my wife put a little cinnamon-sugar on top! I recommend this one and we'll be making it again. If you're adventurous, poke some holes in the top of your slice with toothpicks and then douse it with some Bailey's Irish Cream!! It will soak right into the holes. Ohhh Yummmmmayy!! (-:
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: KRYSTENL
this was very tasty, although a tad bit "dry". i topped it with sliced strawberries and chocolate sauce. i think the "dryness" of the cake is not necessarily a downfall, as it will stand up wonderfully under juicy fruits, or sauces without becoming soggy. will make again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Warbeak
I was looking for an Irish dessert to bring to a potluck. This far exceeded my expectations. It was perfectly moist, amazingly easy, and is made with on-hand ingredients. This is the perfect treat to make in a pinch or for any reason at all. You may as well make two!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: MERKX4
Delicious and moist!! Yumm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: DLITTLE11
Very good! I did as someone mentioned whipped the butter very well. Used 1 c. milk rather than 1/2 cup. It took about 10 more minutes of cooking time, but came out very fluffy and moist. Today tried it with Irish Cream and that was fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes