My Reviews (131)

Stout Beef Stew

This is one of my favourite easy beef stew dinners! The stout beer really adds a dimension to the flavour. Serve with mashed potatoes.
Reviews (131)


08 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: JodieRomeyn
The meat melts in your mouth it's yummy with a capital Y
 
07 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: QueenMacAnnie
Made this in the slow cooker and added celery and swede.. great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Mayelle
We have just finished this stew, I was going to take a picture but it didn't last long enough for that! I took other reviewers advice and added spices. I added about two tablespoons of rosemary, a tsp of garlic, tsp of parsley, salt and pepper, a teeeny sprinkle of thyme and a half teaspoon of italian seasoning.Thank you for the recipe Oh also...I kinda started it wrong. I cooked the meat as said, and then I put it in water with four oxo cubes...then let it all soak for about an hr on low heat since I was cooking it on the stove. then I added my potatoes I used baby new potatoes so I didn't have to peel (ha!) then I mixed the tomato paste with some water and another oxo cube, then added it to the stew then finally added the can of beer. Will defo...DEFO be making this again. Thank you again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Barbie Hyatt McAfee
My family loves this recipe. I've found that some rosemary garlic seasoning really pulls it all together and gives it a great flavor. The only other change I make is slow cooking it on the stove. It makes the whole house smell great on a cold winter's day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: nickerbockerglory1
WOW! Tried my first stew weeks ago and too be honest it was extremely watery and bland Spotted this recipe and thought I'd give it a try...and thank goodness I did. This has got to be the most delicious stew I have ever tasted. I used just over 2lb of beef and then followed the recipe that was given. Cooked it for 6 hours on high and added dumplings for the last 15 minutes (have reviewed dumpling recipe and would definitely recommend that you give that a go and add to stew). Thank you for a delicious recipe that is perfect for those winter nights. *note: Aldi Guinness is cheaper than branded.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Johnny
This was a great stew but as others said, needed some spicing. Only change was I added the tomatoe paste to the skillet used to brown the beef for 20 secs to get rid of the tinny taste and then added the beef broth and deglazed the skillet. Pour into crock pot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: caterpillar333
I felt that the recipe didn't have enough liquids. I added two cups broth. I also reduced the stout to six ounces as I had some very strong tasting beer. The result was a very mild and delicious broth with just the right amount of stout taste. It was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: JENNAmouse
I made this in the slow cooker on high for 6 hours and it was delicious. Easy and simple the way Irish stew should be - no need for fancy ingrediants. I follwed the recipe exactly except that I added 1 cup of fresh mushrooms when there was about 2 hours of cooking time left.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Becky74
Easy and delicious, plus enough left over for the freezer
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 May 2009
Reviewed by: Natasha C.
It was a great recipe but, the stout beer was way to stout for my family. Gave it a wangy taste that my kids didnt enjoy much at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes