My Reviews (48)

Walnut Icing

Icing not made with icing sugar? This is a traditional German recipe with coconut and walnuts. Try it out for your next cake - it's interesting!
Reviews (48)


29 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: BELFLOREK
My boyfriend started eating this frosting with a spoon it was SO good. One word of advice, wisk the cornstarch in with the half/half first so there are no lumps later. I used Pecans and toasted both them and the coconut as others suggested, it was WONDERFUL!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
OH man..I could eat this frosting till I couldn't see straight anymore. I love german chocolate cake...(no one's is as good as my mema's) but the frosting makes up for that. Our regular recipe calls for either milk or evaporated milk I believe, but half and half is certainly a great substitute. Thanks so much Sierra.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: TENSMOM
I have been looking for a good GC frosting -- this was it! I must admit, though, I used pecans, not walnuts. I'm fairly certain (??) that tradition would have you use pecans for a GC cake... besides, I am allergic to walnuts, so that never would have worked. It turned out great -- thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: TXMUSTANG
Frosting was great! Tasted great on the german chocolate cake recipe. I changed one thing, I used pecans instead of the walnuts. Be sure to let it set to thicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: hoffmanlb
This is my go-to recipe for german chocolate cake frosting ... so unbelievably good! My husband's all time favorite. The eggs must be tempered or you will have cooked egg in your frosting. I get the half & half, butter, sugar & cornstarch to a near boil then take out a small amount to temper with the yolks. Slowly add the whipped egg yolks into it, then slowly add all back into the pan - be sure to stir constantly with a whisk while pouring into pan. You must bring it all to a full boil to get the mixture to a thick custard like consistency. Then add the coconut & nuts. I do add about 1-1/2 cups of coconut to get a thicker frosting like consistency. SO GOOD!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: KARENH
I thought this recipe was fantastic! I added 1 tsp. of vanilla and substituted pecans for the walnuts. I also toasted the pecans and coconut first.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: HANNAH22
Very tasty!! This frosting is not sickeningly sugary like some frostings, and I would willingly eat it even without a cake under it... However, be VERY careful not to overheat the frosting; on one memorable occasion I ended up picking out bits of cooked yolk at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: SaraLee
This frosting was a bit loose, but the taste was wonderful and I would use it again. Next time I may boil it a bit longer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: MBARNES
MADE THIS RECIPE & I ADDED 1/2 TEASPOON COCONUT EXTRACT. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY DIVINE.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Linda(LMT)
Creamy and delicious. I made Chocolate Wacky Cake VIII from this site and wanted to splurged by frosting it with a German chocolate cake frosting because I love coconut and pecans and was happy when I found this one because it doesn't use canned products which sometimes leave behind that "canned" taste. This frosting wasn't sickening sweet and the half and half (by the way I used fat-free and doubled the cornstarch just to make sure it would be thick enough) made it wonderful ... the fresh cream blended well with the other ingredients. At first I didn't think it would set up enough but it did. My version did not make a thick sticky frosting like other cake frostings but I spread it out over a single layer cake and refridgerated it and it set up well. I substituted pecans for the walnuts and used both more nuts and coconut just because with an added tsp. of vanilla.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes