My Reviews (408)

Beef and Noodle Casserole

A quick and easy beef and pasta casserole, perfect for a midweek meal. It's rich, creamy and filling. Serve with a green salad and bread.
Reviews (408)


09 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: AmandaT
This recipe is great. I have made it numerous times (the hubby insists I make it at least once a month!) and have made a few minor changes. Firstly, I use 2 lbs. of meat, 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef and 1/2 lb. locally homemade hot sausage. I saute the onions with the meat mixture instead of adding it to the cream cheese mixture and use double the amount of diced tomatoes. I also use a whole 16 oz. container of sour cream and the whole 8 oz. container of cream cheese. I also use about 1/2 cup more of the cheddar on top. The best and most flavorful change I made, however, was adding a package of dried onion soup mix to the sour cream/cream cheese mixture. I did this the very first time I made it and it turned out great. I tried it once without it because I didn't have any on hand and the dish just wasn't the same. In all, a great recipe. The hubby's buddies now flock to my house when they find out I'm making it, so I have to make 2 batches every time. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Cindy in Pensacola
I followed the recipe exactly and didn't much care for it. My husband doesn't like spicey so thought I would try this. Something about the cream cheese/sourcream layer just put me off. Funcky flavor combo, I won't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2011
Reviewed by: Michelle
We had no leftovers!!!! Great comfort food and we loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: F_Gory
This was an easy recipe to make. I utilized other reviews and used sausage and beef. I added garlic and onion while the meat was browning and with the tomatoes added worchestersire and a bit of beer. I also used 8oz of cream cheese and only 8oz of sour cream. I would not layer the ingredients, but mix it casserole style. Boyfriend liked it so I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: MISSOURIMOMMA
My husband really enjoyed this dish, I did find my noodles got a bit dry and hard on top, so I may reduce baking time when i make it again. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LEOSPETS807
This recipe could be a whole lot better. It needed some "kick". Shame on me for not reading the reviews before making it last time. This time I put 1 pkg of taco mix to the meat mixture before simmering it. I also added about 1 cup of shredded cheddar and some onion to the meat mixture. It seemed to help considerably.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: JENLEWIS
This recipe was excellent. My husband and my kids loved it. I added 1 can of condensed cheddar cheese soup to the sour cream & cream cheese mixture, as well as 1 cup of milk. I used elbow noodles, and I used two cans of Rotel tomatoes for extra zip rather than plain tomatoes. I will definately make it again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Andrew's Mommy
Really good. Will make again. The hubby suggested making it without the noodles and eat as a dip. He's a big dip person! I also used a bag spicy shredded cheese on the top. I think it would have been a bit bland for our family had I used regular cheddar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Mary
Very good meal, I have made this several times and this last time I just cooked it all in one pot, was too hot for the oven. Was still very yummy! Thanks Cathy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: kimbee1976
I've been making this for years and it is SUCH good comfort food - just make sure the cream cheese is super soft so it will combine well with the sour cream. Also I use green onion (tops and bottoms) instead of regular onion. I have layered it as the recipe suggests and I have also used a smaller oval dish and used more layers - no matter what it always turns out great. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes