My Reviews (408)

Beef and Noodle Casserole

A quick and easy beef and pasta casserole, perfect for a midweek meal. It's rich, creamy and filling. Serve with a green salad and bread.
Reviews (408)


03 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Kristen Lilly Freitas
I had to change a lot of things with this recipe, but it was worth it! All of the revisions came from other reviewer suggestions I made taco seasoned ground beef, then added the tomatoes and since the meat was seasoned I added no salt and just a pinch of sugar. I changed the layers, as suggested, and put the noodles on the bottom,hamburger next, cream mixture next (an ounce more cream cheese, 1/2 c more sour cream), then cheddar cheese. I covered with foil for first half the cooking time and removed it for the second half. It was truly DELICIOUS once it was made with the CHANGES. I have a picky husband & 4 year old and they both gobbled it up and had seconds! It was just as good rewarmed the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Lauren
I have been cooking this recipe for years. I remember it being one of the first things I ever made that didn't come out of a box and it's been a family favorite ever since. I will say that my recipe varies slightly. I use 3 green onions instead of regular and mix it with 2 cups sour cream and 8 oz cream cheese in a separate bowl. I also use 16 oz of tomato sauce instead of the diced tomatoes and mix with ground beef, a can of corn, 1 tsp sugar and salt, and 1/2 tsp pepper and Worcestershire sauce. I then layer (repeatedly and in this order) the cooked noodles, beef mixture, and the cream cheese mixture. I then top with a lot of cheddar cheese and bake until it bubbles (about 30 minutes).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: CINLEO
After reading the reviews, the best things are to; 1) Add 1oz more cream cheese& 1/2 cup more sour cream 2) Add 1/2 of the onions to beef while frying 3) Season beef well 4) Cover with foil Layer like recipe calls for and it is a excellent dish. My family (who are picky eaters) wanted me to make it again the next week! It is also very easy to make. Send us more recipes like it!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: JUSTJEN33
This is wonderful! Have made this several times already. Our children are the ones asking me to make it again. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: DDWYER5
This is an all over good meal. I made it the way it was written the first time and we rated it an 7. The second time I made it I added chopped garlic with the onion mix and tabasco sauce as well. I also seasoned the meat before cooking. I mixed the meat with the cheese mixture and the noodles as well then topped with twice the amount of cheese. That way the we werent just getting a hunk of noodles with cheese melted on. It turned out good. The second time we rated it a 10!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2005
Reviewed by: CHRISTYZ3
My husband loved it! I went by other reviews adding tomato sauce. I think I will add some more tomato sauce next time. I also added the onions to the meat mixture. I covered with foil and added cheese to the top (on top of cream cheese mixture). Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: TMMC
I've made this recipe twice and its been great both! The first time based on other reviews, I made it mexican. I mixed the onions in with the meat and added some taco seasoning and salsa. I did use 8 oz of cream cheese and sour cream and 16 oz of noodles so I had to make a 9x9 pan too, but my husband pulled that out of the freezer for lunch 2 days later. I did almost the same thing the second time but I made it Italian. I used Spaghetti sauce and topped with Mozzeralla cheese. The noodles on the top of this one were crunchy so next time I'll layer them on the bottom only. My family and I loved this recipe and I look forward to playing with it more. /(6/17 addition) Okay This recipe has been a staple in our house for 2 years now. I have enjoyed it so much that I don't have to look at the recipe anymore, not that I follow the recipe exactly either. I mixed black beans in with the meat the last time I made this because I didn't have enough meat and it was probably the best yet. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: MinxyBaby
Pretty good recipe. This has made it to my recipe box, but I added notes. I put in some oregano and never make this recipe without corn. Something about the cream and the corn coming together make this even more appetizing. Thanks for giving me ideas with this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Cookeratheart
This recipe was really good, an interesting combination of ingredients that works well together. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and put all the noodles at the bottom. Also, right before I put the topping on top of the casserole I mixed in the cream cheese and sour cream blend. It helped the consistency and also helped break up the cream cheese as it is hard to stir in evenly. One thing I will change next time is to saute the onions in with the ground beef. Otherwise they stay crunchy and taste more like a raw onion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: stacie anne
This recipe was too dry, it has a great flavor - just needs more sauce. I would also put all pasta in the bottom rather than more on top (the top layer dries out and becomes crunchy/chewy while baking). I still have leftovers left! Must revise this one before making it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes