My Reviews (46)

Trinidadian Chilli Sauce

This is a truly spicy sauce originally hailing from Trinidad. Use over meats, in sandwiches and stews. Trinis use it in anything savoury!
Reviews (46)


06 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: BeeMac
Thank you for recipe, it sounds great! Am looking forward to trying it. So long as it’s refrigerated, it may keep indefinitely. What could possibly live in it? If it wasn’t refrigerated, it would ferment then probably explode.
 
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Trini
When I submitted this recipe it somehow was changed..only 4 TABLESPOONS of dry mustard is the correct proportion...NOT a quarter of a cup!!!!......hope this is helpful
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: zeezdawter
I made this Pepper Sauce today, and I must say...it is the hottest I've ever had! But here's the difference...it also has a lot of flavor. Some people like just heat; but if there's no flavor, then it's no different than a mouthful of fire. I didn't change anything at all since it was my first time making it. But maybe next time I will use just 10 habaneros so some of my friends will be able to eat it without bursting into flames! Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Shanna
I have little experience with hot sauces, but I saw this and wanted to make it for my hubby who loves anything hot. However, I took someone else's suggestion to only use 10 peppers. I was, at first, disappointed because I tried it and could tolerate it (I'm a bit wimpy). The taste was wonderful, but there was only a little heat. Then it hit me. Wow! This stuff is fantastic! I love it and it was a huge hit in my house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Sydneysmama
I am making this sauce again today for the second time in 5 months. My husband loves it! So does my son and I. It is amazing made like buffalo wing sauce. Melt a stick of butter with a cup or so of sauce and simmer. It tones down the heat a little, which is not said as a good or bad thing because obviously people who make this sauce LOVE hot food, it's just simply a fact. It just happens to be that it is an amazing combination warmed with butter, and is fantastic on crispy wings or as a dipping sauce for tenders or grilled chicken (or pork). Trust me, try it. Use as much butter or sauce to your liking-you can't go wrong. Also, this stuff is amazing straight up on mac and cheese! Wow! We are addicted to that combo. Definitely 5 stars!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Sherry Knoebel Roberts
Wow, I feel just like the other reviewers, great taste/flavor to go with the heat. My husband likes the hot sauce in the family and I usually stay away, as most are just fire in your mouth. I made this and it was accepted by everyone. I did not use Habaneros, I have a garden and tons of hot peppers ( 5 or 6 kinds) and was running out of things to do with them - this was fantastic. I really think the Mango and green onion does something for these hot peppers, we have had it on chicken, fried pork chops, with chips, I made a curry meal and we ate it with that. My husband took it to work for others to try, it is gone and I am ready to go and pick some more peppers. You will not be unhappy. Thanks for a great receipe. NOTE: I tried to make this and process it in a pressure cooker like I do other things, it did not taste the same, it was not bad when we opened the jars, but it seemed to be fermenting - tiny bubble inside, not sure why, or what was reacting with what - but it altered the taste, much better fresh - will try freezing some next time I make a batch and see how that does. WE REALLY LIKE THIS SAUCE.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: pisces318
has anyone tried canning this recipe?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: huntclan
I wanted this to work very badly so I followed the instructions to the letter. I even had the missus help me out. The recipe made 4 1/2 cups and smelled putrid. I blended, mixed and even put it through the grinder to try and "thin-it-out." The concoction was still very thick. I put it in some chili to see if I mixing it with food would eliminate the smell and add some flavor. No way! The overpowering MUSTARD taste and smell was still present. Think about it, a quarter cup of Dry Mustard. Perhaps if it was eliminated the recipe might be good. I didn't even use the entire quarter cup because I ran out. The mixture tastes like a Vodka Mustard Schnapps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Sogs11
This is a great recipe! Used 15 whole pepper from the garden, did not bother to seed. Great kick and superb flavour. Blended for 6 mins to make sure the seeds were crushed.Ignore the bad review, this was probably from someone who has not developed the heat tolerance or can understand how heat and flavours work together. I will be making this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Mary B
Very easy very good very HOT! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes