My Reviews (20)

Crab and Artichoke Baguettes

A quick and easy lunch that is also fancy! Crab and artichokes are grilled on baguettes with melted cheese. Absolutely delicious!
Reviews (20)


22 May 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
One of the happiest finds I've come across in quite some time. Anything I could say to describe these would be trite and cliche and still, no words would suffice. It doesn't hurt that some of my favorite foods and flavors on the planet are all in this sandwich - Alaskan King crab meat, black olives, artichokes, cheddar, tomatoes. Seriously, this one was a no brainer. I used fresh, crusty, sourdough rolls that I buttered before heaping on the crab mixture. Other than substituting a little friendlier Tabasco sauce for the cayenne and adding the green onion to taste, I made these exactly as the recipe directs. And why wouldn't I? - to mess around with this recipe would be to mess around with perfection. All of the ingredients come together to create something uniquely flavorful, uniquely delicious and, well, just plain unique, period. Rich, creamy, "crabby," elegant, colorful, can't wait for the next bite delicious. So many colors, flavors and textures going on, this really made for one, memorable sandwich. I served this with a copy cat version of Olive Garden's Chicken and Gnocchi Soup, which made for a totally satisfying and delicious supper. Regrettably, this recipe has not been reviewed in two years. Folks, you've GOT to try this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: CMANTEN
My husband absolutely loved this! Made it on a prepared loaf of garlic bread so give it a bit more flavour (especially for us garlic lovers). Since making it for the first time 3 weeks ago, he's had me make it 5 times. We both prefer it with a mixture of shrimp and crab. Fantastic easy recipe to make on a rushed evening.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2002
Reviewed by: Amanda
Wow! I made these for an impromptu dinner party and they made a huge hit! I used marinated artichokes instead of the canned ones, though. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Dutchgirl
Loved this! Great combination of ingredients. I used marinated artichoke hearts and used a bit of the 'juice' from them to thin the mayo a bit because I like a thinner mayo in salads like this. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. We ate it as hot sandwiches as the recipe indicates. We also ate it cold on lettuce beds. I used a little one morning warmed up and served over eggs. For those of you worried about the calorie count - don't. This makes FAR more than 4 servings. Flavorful and versatile!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: WKUNTZ
We made these sandwiches with some left over cooked shrimp (diced up) and they turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: VesHeill
These were really quite tasty and easy to whip up for a swift dinner. I made them healthier by using half mayo and half low-fat sour cream, and adding a bit of lemon juice for some zing. I also hollowed out some of the middle of the roll I was using to save on a few calories, and I served these with a cucumber/tomato/basil salad. Very summery!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: laura ross
Yummy! I like to make recipes for the first time just like as described so I get an accurate feel for what can be change if anything. The only thing I did differently was make it into like an open face sandwhich and we omitted the olives (not an olive fan). It was sooo good. Next time I might try even marinated artichokes which I think might be good in this also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Zeke
Used individual Baguettes and did not add the cayenne pepper. Had extra mix that was used for a salad the next day. A real keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: JasBradley
I have had this recipe in my recipebox since August 2003! I've often wanted to try this, but when it came to planning meals, I'd always over look it. I finally gave it a shot this past weekend and it was great! After reading the other reviews, I decided to try this with shrimp, as the author suggested, instead of the crab meat. I sauted the cleaned, peeled and butterflied shrimp with cajun seasoning and then cut them half. I also used red onion instead of green and used just a bit less mayo. We also had ours on sourdough bread which was just delicious! This reminded me a lot of the artichoke bruschetta recipe on here.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: HODE2005
Delicious! Love it! So did my girlfriend. We both ate way too much. The only improvement that I can think of is that it could be a little spicier. I think the next time I make it I'll had some jalapeno peppers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes