My Reviews (9)

Easy Challah Bread

Challah - braided Jewish bread - is a wonderful bread for a first-time breadmaker. You can even make the dough ahead and refrigerate it until next morning. This should slow the yeast's growth so that you can leave it out on the counter until it's ready for the next stage in late afternoon or early evening.
Reviews (9)


02 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Lori
This bread was easy to make and very flexible in it's rising time which is nice! The only tip I have is begin braiding in the middle of thethe loaf and braid out to each end (I find it easier to make a good looking loaf this way!) My only complaint was that the bread was denser and heavier then I expected Challah to be but that is because of the whole wheat flour... I shouldn't have been surprised Thanks for adding a good whole wheat bread recipe that is pretty enough to grace any dinner table!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: tamara
This is our favorite challah! I only made two other types before but once we found this recipe, well, it's always a winner. Sure, it's dense because of the wheat but it's SO tasty. I like to add some extra honey and sometimes add honey to the egg wash.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: nina518200
Absolutely delicious and healthy too! I wouldn't change a thing. Makes great French toast and croutons, but trust me, it won't last that long. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: daferrari
Fabulous challah recipe. I used agave as a reviewer suggested. Light sweetness, crumb and texture just right. I used my Kitchenaid with paddle for the first mix, then used dough hook for 5 minutes for kneading. Beautiful smooth dough after 1st rise. I braided from the center which was a great tip. 3 lovely yummy loaves to bake on a very cold winter day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Derek Fields
After many years, I have started making Challah again. This recipe works very well for me. The one change that I make is that I use agave nectar instead of honey, which is a little sweeter and easier to work with than honey. I prefer to make two large loaves instead of three smaller ones from this recipe, but it works great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Spencer!!!
This was absolutely amazing!!! Just one thing, could you put in some more honey? The flavor of it seemed to kind of disappear... But it was fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: pharmacokatie
I am a mediocre bread maker but this turned out really great. I did have to about 1 cup more of each flour but thats how it goes sometimes. I sort of deflated one loaf when I brushed on the egg wash so make sure you take your time and apply is carefully.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: flygirlphd
Great recipe! Bread has a lovely texture. I usually use 2/3 c of honey to give a little more sweetness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2019
Reviewed by: Kim
Love this bread! It's so delicious! I used warm milk in place of water, added a bit of brown sugar in addition to the honey, used 4 egg yolks plus 1 whole egg, and used more whole wheat flour than called for. I also made it into a six-braid instead of just three; this required it to bake for about 50 minutes. I will definitely make this again! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes