My Reviews (17)

Buttermilk Oatbread

This lovely oat bread recipe is especially good when it is hot and fresh, just plain - but even better with a little butter and honey.
Reviews (17)


23 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Ari_Anna
Yummy bread. Only change I made was to use coconut sugar instead of honey. Will use this recipe again, oats made it interesting plus the egg and powdered milk increased protein content, important in my diet.
 
06 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
I found the long list of ingredients to make this bread a little daunting but that was part of the fun of making it! I was also attracted to the healthy additions of oats, bran, buttermilk and egg. I wasn't sure of the necessity of the baking soda, why dry milk powder in addition to buttermilk or why oat bran in addition to rolled oats. I also used one of my two bread machines, the new one, that I'm not all that familiar with, particularly in what order I should PUT all these ingredients! This was a true experiment, much as I now understand it must have been for the submitter, who remarked that this recipe is "the end result of trial, error and continuous tweaking." Well, it paid off. I really liked this hearty, oat-y, but soft bread. I don't know how or why all the ingredients work together but they do. This is a great bread, something a little different than just plain white, and I actually prefer this to the heavier, more strongly flavored wheat bread. It's a beautiful creamy beige in color, with flecks of the oat bran throughout, reminding you that you're eating something a little healthier for you than just plain white bread too. (Though just plain white Italian bread will ALWAYS be my favorite!) I'm not sure why in more than seven years only nine people have reviewed this recipe - the last review nearly two years ago - but be assured this is a wonderful, grainy, flavorful bread I hope more people will try in spite of the long list of ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: DFPSHRIMP
Malicia: Great Job!! Love using real buttermilk, the oat taste came through; the bread was delicious!!! The bread rose all the way to the top of the pan-it was light and just REALLY GOOD! My husband REALLY LIKED IT TOO! Thanks for sharing your labor of love with the rest of us!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: FRAMBUESA
I used lite soymilk in place of the buttermilk and wheat germ in place of the bran since I was out of both, and the bread still came out really nice. I made it by hand and baked it for about 35 minutes at 350 in a loaf pan, and it made a huge puffy loaf. Tastes best plain.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: PAMINMI
Very good bread. I followed recipe exactly but needed to add about another couple ounces because the dough was too dry. The bread is moist and flavorful and baked up into a beautiful loaf. I used dry buttermilk powder mixed with water instead of commercial buttermilk. I will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Chris From Kent, WA
A very flavorful bread. We all loved it. It kept its freshness for over 5 days. Very dense but trust me -you'll love the flavor. GREAT TOASTED.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: ZILLYMOM101
This made a beautiful loaf of bread that was delicious. I made a loaf for my bread-loving boyfriend. He took some to work and shared it with a work buddy who proclaimed it "(insert profanity here) good"...very high praise indeed coming from him!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: mn78
The bread turned out O.K., rose to the top and had a nice texture. The flavor was missing something. I'll stick to my Oatmeal Bread which has molassis and more oats in it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: MONICA397
This bread was awesome!!! The flavor was wonderful. It now takes its place in my homemade bread rotationa!! Thanks for posting it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
Nice bread. Soft like a white loaf but chewy and with a hint of whole grain flavor too. I thought it was the best of both worlds but wasn't counting on bf agreeing; surprisingly, he really liked it although he muttered the crust was a tad hard. Very nice, easy loaf. I made my own buttermilk with lemon and milk. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes