My Reviews (71)

White Bread

This is a very good basic bread recipe without a strong yeast flavour. Proofing the yeast first eliminates some of the yeast taste from the final product.
Reviews (71)


25 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: EMERALDCITYJEWEL
Easy bread. I don't have a bread machine so used the allrecipes site advice on coverting bread machine recipes to regular methods. (You will find it under baking advice.) Definately need to up the water by 1/4 cup and I like a sweeter bread so upped the sugar to 1/3 cup. I also used dry buttermilk powder instead of just dry milk. Really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Kara
I love this recipe! I have used it over and over again, and it is always a hit. I prefer to bake it in the oven rather than in the machine, because the top rises too much for my bread machine. Most of the time I sub 1 c. whole wheat flour for the white. I have made cinnamon raisin bread: add 1 tablespoon cinnamon, more sugar and some raisins. I have made garlic bread: add a couple of minced garlic cloves and some italian seasoning. This recipe makes great italian breadsticks, just roll it out, twist and bake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Sandy
This is probably one of the best bread recipes I have ever made. It was a great big hit with my family. I made one loaf on Saturday and we ate the whole loaf for dinner. I made another loaf on Sunday and we ate the whole loaf again. I felt it was very easy to make and turned out very tender with a wonderful flavor. I did not proof the yeast before I made the bread and it did not have a strong yeast flavor. I'm positive I will make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: THEINGRAMS4
Great bread. I didn't have dry milk powder so I just used warm milk, which worked very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: IRAPBMD
This is my favourite white bread. It is so simple and delicious and my guests just love it. I don't proof the yeast first and it tastes just fine using bread machine yeast. I use 1 1/2 cups of water instead of 1 1/4 total combined.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Mrs. A.
Great recipe!! I read the previous reviews and followed their suggestions ie: didn't proof the yeast and used 1 1/2 cups of water. The loaf rose up to the top of the baking window and was very moist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: NANCYPARR
Simply the best machine made white bread we have tried.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: AUNT SUSU
I used seasoned potato flakes will gave the bread extra flavoring.. it was my husband's favorite of 10 breads that I've recently tried.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: DMITJNT
This bread is fantastic! I mix it up in the bread machine and then bake it in my oven and get 2 perfect loaves. My 3 kids(ages 13, 10 and 6) prefer this bread over store bought and that is saying something! I will never have to buy bread again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: MISSOURIMULE
My family really liked this bread better than all the rest I've tried. But I had to was a lot more water than was called for. I probably used a 1 more cup of water. It was gone in 1 meal. The whole 2 pound loaf.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes