My Reviews (29)

Turkish Beef Dumplings

To prepare this dish takes time, but I'm sure you'll agree it's worth it! You can use lamb mince as a wonderfully savoury variant.
Reviews (29)


12 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: J
I loved this recipe and so did my family. If you were in a hurry you could use pre-made wonton wrappers instead of making the dough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: capedread
I visit Turkey a lot and had to try this recipe for myself. well set out and easy to follow helped a lot as for the meal itself got raves from the family. will make this again definitely a keeper thanks for the post
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: fakeymcfake
Great instructions, my family (and some others) enjoy the butter sauce with some tomato paste stirred in, makes it richer imo. Also, if you can get a hold of dry sumac, a pinch of it is the perfect topping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Mama & her Girls
Great and easy to follow recipe. I found that 2 eggs made it eggy and I used 1 instead. I had to increase the amount of water but it turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe that my whole family enjoyed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Gonzo
Whew! This is not a recipe for beginners! It took me about 2 hours of straight work to get this recipe finished. It was really awesome when we actually got to eat. I was proud, but exhausted!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: five1313
I made these for some Turkish people whom came to work at my job for the summer. They loved it. Turns out after you make manti, you bake it on 325 for 15 mins then boil for 10 mins. The dough should be close to paper thin, like phyllo dough, and they said they should be able to fit close to 40 pieces of manti into one spoon full..... That part kinda blew my mind. Had to 86 plain yogurt and sub it with ranch. 2 cups Tomato sauce with 1/5 cup butter and 3 Tbsp pepper flakes instead of oil. It came out pretty amazing, S&P to taste. Going to try this one again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: tonton
Asli this was so easy to make!!! My husband's side of the family is Crimean(Kirim) and they make manti so good! So I took at this with my non-Crimean self and I must admit it came out FABULOUS!!! I made a yogurt sauce with mint, a little oil, red pepper flakes, black pepper, garlic and a touch of salt. YUM!! Thanks again Aslicigim!!!! ) Tebrik ederim! Cok guzel olmussunuz!!! Allah tamamini erdirsin!!!! Aslicigim emailim yazdim bu reviewa ama nedense kabul etmiyor...ve soyle yazayim umarim anlasilir..tkr ederim...sende cok talisin!!! resimlerine bayiliyorum...ne guzel ailelenle bu kadar yakin olman!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Tallya
This was perfect! I thought it might not be salty enough and added salt on top of the yogurt but turned out it was too much. Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly. I froze half the manti, will use real soon. My husband is from Kazakhstan and they make manti alot bigger and with minced pumpkin along with the meat in the filling, and they are steamed not boiled. In my opinion these were a lot better! Loved yogurt and oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: DiamondGirl amanecer
This recipe is very close to the recipe that my family makes for years just without these sauces. I think 2 eggs is too much, so I use 1 egg and more water instead. The dough comes out great. I used beef and added a little cream to the filling. Then I froze the dumplings for at least an hour. We always do it, I don`t know does it make the difference, but I think it prevents from tearing when you boil the dumplings. The yogurt sauce is great for the dumplings, although we didn`t like the pepper oil (not hot and a little oily). Overall this is a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: witchywoman
These are a lot of work, but worth it in the end. Great recipe, thanks for submitting it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes