My Reviews (14)

Tomato Pasta Sauce

A classic Italian tomato pasta sauce. So much better than the premade versions! Serve over your favourite pasta with salad and garlic bread.
Reviews (14)


06 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Jill
This sauce was very good and easy, however I did skip the green pepers, and added meat and it still turned out good. Thanks for sharing your recipe, my family loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2007
Reviewed by: MOLLE888
Delicious! My boyfriend loved this sauce. I was so angry because the mushrooms I had went bad, so I had to leave them out. The sauce was great without them, though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: CATHY W.
This is such an easy recipe! It came out wonderful and I used the sauce for eggplant parmigiana. Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Jen
This sauce was excellent and very fresh tasting. I added some water to make it a little thinner. It was to thick for my taste. Also I added a few packets of sugar to make it a little more sweet. A few extra added spices and this was perfect. I will never buy jarred pasta sauce again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Linda M
I love this sauce. I didn't have mushrooms, but improvised with a small amount of brown sugar, minced garlic and lean ground beef. It is an excellent foundational recipe for Italian dishes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: CanadianMama
I was SUPER excited to try this recipe after reading the reviews, but I HAD to have done something wrong. Though I did follow it to a "T". The sauce was very very bitter! It was also very bland... which surprised me. I tried adding some sugar and some other seasonings to help but nothing could rescue it. My family liked it and they ate it, and my husband said he liked it(though I think he was just being sweet), but I personally couldn't stand it. I think I might try making it once more... but as it stands right now this was a total let down for me :^(
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Rhonda Brock Fuller
Taste exactly what my Mom used to make. Ah! the memories...She is gone now. But I can finally recreate her recipe thanks to you...It was marvelous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Butterfly Flutterby
This is a delicious sauce recipe. I omitted the mushrooms but it turned out well. I added a pound of ground beef I had sauteed with spices and had a delicious meat sauce to serve over pasta. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: rdog157h
Maybe I did something wrong, please tell me. I followed the directions as given. 5 cloves of garlic seemed to much and it was. Sauce was very very bland even after adding salt and sugar.Everyone else seemed to like it but it was terrible for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: LilAngelTee
First time making sauce. This sauce came out AMAZING. I didn't add mushrooms, basil and and crushed tomatoes. i only used whole tomatoes. Came out so good. . I did add 2 teaspoons of salt and 2 teaspoons of sugar to make it a little more sweet, since it did taste a little bitter. Great Recipe. Thanks...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes