My Reviews (15)

Fruit and Pasta Salad

This recipe is a variant on fruit salad sometimes called an ambrosia salad. As well as fruit it contains pasta, coconut and whipped cream. Very light and great for a special occasion.
Reviews (15)


17 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: wakipan
Fantastic recipe! I used light frozen whipped cream instead and also only let it sit with the pineapple juice mixture for about 6 hours. It turned out great! I love the texture of the orzo pasta in it and that it wasn't overwhelmingly sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Barbara
Ok I opps'ed, I bought the crushed pineapple instead of chunks. It still worked out well. Instead of trying to drain the juice out I just added the pineapple to the pot too. I have had a variation of this salad with the pineapple chunks and I think I like it better with the crushed. What a great mistake this was. I also missed the part about letting it sit for 8 hours or overnight. I needed it in a couple of hours. If was just as good. I did make sure it was cold before completing with the mandarin oranges and whipped topping. This was absolutly the best.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Melissa
I use acini pasta in this. It is wonderful but Acini is hard to find in my area so this year i am going to try Tapioca pasta balls. Wish me luck i am sure it will be fine but we will see. Happy Thanksgivign all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Susan Reeves Kleist
Made this for Christmas and everyone loved it! I really liked the different textures and the orzo added more depth to the dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Robin Wilkins
Delish. I made this w/o the coconut & there were no leftovers from a company potluck. I might add more mandarin oranges next time, but otherwise quite fab.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Barbara
This is SO delicious and my lunch guest LOVED it as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Mercymelms
Real popular with my guests at christmas. I had to give it away cause one of them loved it soo much! I think its pretty good but it was a little weird eating pasta in there lol. I might leave the flavor of the cooked sauce out and try it to see what its like with just pasta. Overall a big creative hit. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Hemmie
Yummy! This is the kind of dish you take to a party and hope no one likes it so that you can take it home and have it all to yourself! The next time I nwill increase the orzo to 12 oz uncooked. This is really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Kimmy A
Let me start by saying that I have never made an Ambrosia salad before and this receipe sounded good. I was easy to make, tasted OK but I think that my family & I were "thrown" by the texture of the pasta in the salad. I reminded me of tapioca and I hate tapioca. I didn't dislike this, in fact the leftovers (alot) are good, but I don't think I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Shannon
Very easy to make and was a hit at a potluck!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes