My Reviews (192)

Foolproof Meringue

Don't be intimidated by making your own meringue for lemon meringue pie. Follow a simple recipe like this one and it will turn out well every time.
Reviews (192)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
DRAGONCOOK said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I cut back on the vanilla by 1/2 and may use a little less sugar next time but this one is printed and in my cookbook forever now. Thanks!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
jpmcminn said:
Altered ingredient amounts. A little more work than regular meringue, but definitely worth it. Made for an excellent, non-weepy topping for Gran's Lemon Meringue Pie. Even used an extra egg white, but kept the remaining measurements the same. perfect. Thanks!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: AIMEE-JIN
At last a meringue that does not weep!! I have tried so many different meringues that weren't supposed to weep and of course they always did. This one truly does not weep and tastes excellent. Thank you for posting this Saundra. This is the one I will continue to use.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MOMMADONNA
This was truly the PERFECT meringue recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, and couldn't have been happier. No weeping, it held up beautifully over the weekend in the fridge and the taste/texture was superb! This will be the only meringue recipe I will use from now on.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: WITZKEN
this is the best recipe ever. I have always had trouble with my meringues but now i can make them with confidence. thank you . it takes a little extra step but it was worth it for me.
 
21 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah
Here are some things to know about meringue that will help you if you are unclear about some of the directions in this recipe. 1) Make sure you have completely seperated the yolk from the white... the slightest bit of yolk will break down you whites. 2) Make you your mixing bowl is 100% GREASE FREE!!! Very important! 3) Keep your eggwhites at ROOM TEMP before you beat. 4) Begin beating the egg whites slowly, increasing speed when they are frothy and beating until soft peaks just begin to form. Continue beating, slowly adding the sugar and then the cornstarch mixture. Beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, this takes a little time. Egg whites are "STIFF" when the beaters leave ridges in the whites and they are glossy and hold a stiff peak when the beaters are lifted out. 5) It is VERY important to beat your eggwhites completely and not stop until you are ready to put on the pie. Meringue starts to deflate within 5 minutes of turning off the mixer. Hope this helps!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Beth Pearce
If you try nothing else, you HAVE to try this recipe! One word: Awesome! For others, like myself, who are "dummies" at meringue making, I want to point out a few things about this recipe. First of all, it is super easy to make! The cornstarch mixutre (preparation), can be tricky! My mixture never did turn clear. I followed the directions to a T. After about 10 minutes, I gave up, and simply removed it from the heat, as directed. I did cook it on low, and although it never did get clear, it worked, beautifully! I would suggest this: Cook it on low, as directed, and if it never does go clear, remove it from the heat, after about 5 minutes. The recipe did not state what speed to put the beater on. I would suggest hi. As far as how long to actually beat the egg white mixture, that is tricky, too. NOT being familiar with meringue, I beat it on hi for ten minutes! It said to beat, until "stiff." One persons definition of stiff, may not be the same as someone elses! So, with that said, I would recommend beating it, maybe, 5 or 6 minutes. This made a delectible meringue! It was super easy to fix, and more than covered my pie! It peaked, beautifully, just as it should, and I took a picture of it!! I put it in the oven on 350 for 17 minutes, exactly! Meringue II, as the recipe is called, just doesn't get it! This recipe deserves a much better name, and an award! Try it, you'll love it! lamborghinigal@bellsouth.net
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: KAJ
At last a meringue that does not weep!! I have tried so many different meringues that weren't supposed to weep and of course they always did. Tried using the extra fine sugar and it helped but did not prevent the weeping.This one truly does not weep and tastes excellent. Thank you for posting this Saundra. This is the one I will continue to use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2007
This was the best meringue recipe ever. My mom was AMAZED by it!!! I messed up the first time I made it by not letting the corn starch thicken enough.... but my fault completely and the next 3 times I made it it came out perfect and delicious. The "extra step" is more than worth it...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: AEVANS28
This was my first try at meringue, and I researched carefully before trying this recipe. My husband had told me he didn't like meringue -- after eating my lemon meringue pie (made with Lemon Meringue Pie III from this website) he asked for another piece and said he must not have ever had good meringue! My mother and mother-in-law were amazed that I had made a meringue with such a perfect consistency and that didn't weep! Use this recipe, you won't regret it. Also refer to the "Perfect Meringue" article you can find on allrecipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes