My Reviews (80)

Ham and Chicken Bake

Here's a quick and tasty casserole that is also a great way to use up any leftover ham. Serve with a green salad and some bread!
Reviews (80)


13 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Good casserole. Thanks to the other reviewers who repeatedly stated that this only serves 2, I doubled it. But even then, it barely fed all of us. Next time, I will have to triple the recipe. Also, I added 2 TBLS diced onions and sauted them in a TBLS butter with the celery so that they are cooked through and when I triple the recipe, I'm going to add more noodles. We like creamy but not "saucy."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
9 X 13 dish is too big. Use a 1 1/2qt dish. Excellent dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: KARLYNNJ
YUMMY is all that I have to say! This was a hit. What a great warm-your-insides dish for winter! The only suggestions that i have are: - when making the cream sauce add cheese to it, it makes a huge difference since the cream sauce is bland. - try using small rotini noodles it bakes up great as well and it more filling - i followed someone else's suggestion and sauteed onions and the celery and it was a great addition. - without a doubt you have to triple this recipe. That made enough for one supper and one lunch (leftovers) for my husband and I which was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: VOLINA
Good way to use up leftover vegetables and meat. Since it was my first time to make this though, I followed the recipe with ham and chicken. I did add some carrots and onions and stirfried them with the chicken and celery before putting it in the casserole dish with the noodles. Tripled the serving size (recipe for 12) just to serve 5 hungry adults. It was barely enough. Also added a couple teaspoons of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. I will do that again next time as well since it came out perfect that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: THEINGRAMS4
This was very good. I too had to double this recipe to feed my family of four (I also cooked other things, plus had homebaked bread). I've also tried this in a pie crust to make it into chicken pot pie, and the family (especially the youngest kid, who eats hardly anything, ate two helpings of this) loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: MPERSO
Very good, but 4 servings?? I could tell it wouldn't even feed one hungry teenager so I tripled it and it still wasn't enough for the 4 of us. I used only leftover Easter ham and added a handful of Sargento shredded Italian cheese to the white sauce. My two teenage sons loved it as did my husband! Yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Loladear
Update: After all these years this dish is still a hit with kids and adults. Comfort food (bland but delicious and hearty) and great use of leftover ham and if we have left over roast chicken we throw that in too. I always chop some onions and sautee it with the celery. Occasionally I throw in diced carrots and peas. I eyeball everything now and put it in a 2.5 quart casserole dish which serves 4-6. About 2/3 box of noodles (10-12 oz rotini) 6 TBS butter 5 TBS flour sifted 2.5 cups milk Original review: Prep time may be 10 minutes if you have everything chopped already, otherwise it took me more like 40 minutes as I was chopping celery and other vegetables I wanted to add in there (onions, carrots and a bit of leftover broccoli). I sauted chicken breast cubes with the vegetables before adding in with the noodles. The sauce didn't thicken after 20 minutes to a consistency that made me feel confident it was going to turn out right so I added a bit of cornstarch. Everyone liked it and had seconds. I'll do it again the same way next time but I will allow more time for prep! With all the vegies, it made a nice meal. I just had one side vegetable dish. BTW, I more than tripled the recipe (added an extra cup of noodles on top of that) to make for 6 adults and it came out with just a little leftover.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: CRAZYCOOKIE
Finally!! I found a dish to make for my boyfriend that makes him say 'WOW!' when he tastes it. I used elbow macaroni, deli ham, and omitted the celery. I had some leftover mozzarella cheese slices that I tore into pieces and tossed in, and then threw some shredded "mexican cheese" on the top. It was wonderful and we loved it. What's even better is that it was so easy and quick. This will be made at least once a month
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: cjucoder
Thank you for having a casserole dish that doesn't use canned cream of blah blah soup! That said, the amounts of noodles per sauce seems off in this recipe. I more than doubled the amount of egg noodles and it was still very saucy. I used all ham just because I had no cooked chicken available. I also used finely chopped onion instead of celery, and added a clove of minced garlic and also cheddar to the sauce. Worked very well! A very good basic recipe to be tweaked to your hearts content. Broccoli would be great in this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: MichelleK
the only thing i regret is not doubling the recipe [:
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes