My Reviews (102)

Baked Cheesy Fish

An unbelievably simple way to prepare fish, and so tasty! If you want you can soak the fish in milk and lemon juice for a couple of hours to reduce the 'fishy' taste.
Reviews (102)


07 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: LizBurges-Short
really simple. Used garlic mayonnaise which added an extra flavour kick, try your favourite mayonnaise not just plain and see what you can do.
 
16 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: KaffGiordmaina
THIS WAS SO TASTEY I USED A LARGE PIECE OF REEF FISH MMMM WILL BE USING THE RECIPE AGAIN .
 
29 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
As I was preparing this, and again when we were eating it, hubs and I realized I had made this before (a variation of this recipe on this site) and that we loved it as much this time as the first. I don't know why this simple combination of cheese and mayo makes this so extraordinary and delicious, but it does. I didn't bother to soak the fish in milk first, which shouldn't be necessary if it's really fresh. I just seasoned it with pepato, an Italian fish seasoning of sea salt, pepper, lemon and orange zest, then sprinkled the cheese mixture with paprika to give it color. Unless your filets are really thick, I'd start off with less baking time--you can always give it a few minutes more, but fish can get overdone quickly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: tommie
I use to cook this when I worked for the officers club on Eielson AFB, Ak. We actually minced a small onion and added it to the mayo mixture. I believe they originally got the recipe from the Princess hotel in Fairbanks. i have only had this with halibut but I assume it would be tasty with other white fish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: SANDRA DEE
I didn't have any Monterey Jack cheese, but this was GREAT with just the cheddar!! My husband fills the freezer with halibut every year and this will be a regular at our house! My 2 & 4 year olds ate every last bite! Thank you for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: KATLIST
This is one of my husband's favorite halibut recipes. Funny reading other reviewer -- the first time we had this was at the Officer's Club at Eielson AFB, and we called to find out what it was called so I could make it at home. I sometimes use light mayo and add garlic or garlic powder. It's very rich (and halibut is expensive if you're not catching it in Alaska yourself)so it's more of a special occasion dish now.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: BACKPACKGIRL1
wow-this is a great recipe!!! i really recommend it!! i did soak mine in the milk & lemon juice mixture for a few hours, then rinsed..and i also cooked it in stoneware..it's also so easy to prepare. note ** the sauce makes a *great* spread for garlic bread as well...enjoy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: LLANDAFF
Wow! So easy and so tasty! I only used cheddar cheese and omitted the mustard, but, even so, this was delicious. I rarely make the same recipe twice, but this will be a regular for sure. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2003
Reviewed by: FBA
I happened to buy haddock and didn't bother to soak the fish 1st. It tasted fine. I think you could put the topping on many different kinds of fish (scrod, etc.).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: EH
Easy and quick. My neighbor is kind enough to share his Halibut from Alaska so our filets were nice and thick. I did not have mayonaise so used Miracle Whip and it worked fine. Otherwise, I did not change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes