My Reviews (37)

Zesty Pork Medallions

Pan fried pork medallions are served with a zesty vinaigrette of red wine vinegar, port and cayenne pepper. Serve with crusty bread.
Reviews (37)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. The flavour of the pork was wonderful. I served it over white rice and had steamed brocolli as the side dish. I used dried parsley instead of coriander (since I hate coriander... I know I'm crazy). I also used Vermouth instead or Port Wine. The steamed white rice didn't go very well with this dish as the marinade / sauce was very strong. Next time I will add the marinade / sauce to the pork while it is cooking and simmer it down. This should thicken the marinade / sauce considerably and give the pork even more flavour. I will also serve the pork inside of pita bread with tzatziki sauce. As the brocolli didn't fit well either, next time I will use red potatoes as the side dish.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Flaquita said:
Used different ingredients. This is very similar to Thai Pork (on this site). I did like this recipe, although I did change a thing or two. I cut the pork in thin pieces instead of bite-sized. I also forgot to add the cayenne (didn't matter much) and it tasted really great. I love the red wine vinegar flavour. It is just the right amount. I did add some mushrooms and a bit of green onion to colour it up a bit. I will definately be making this one again. Thanks for posting.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ADAM_O said:
Something else. I give it a four because although the sauce is a very nice blend of flavour, I had to make some changes to intensify the taste of it in the pork. First, I cooked the pork with the garlic and coriander until it's half done. Then, after taking the pork out of the frypan, I poured in the sauce, and reduced it until thick. I then tossed the pork in the sauce and cooked it through. We ate the pork wrapped in lettuce leaves and the texture complimented each other well. It's a five after the modifications.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ROSEYCAT said:
Something else. So simple and delicious! Didn't change a thing except I poured out the little remaining oil in the pan and added just a little of the oil, red vinegar and port to the hot pan to deglaze it and poured it over the pork - couldn't let the taste of the browning go to waste! Then added the remainder of the whisked ingrediants to the pork. The minced garlic over the meat is a must. I didn't have fresh coriander, so used a tsp. of dried, crushed it in the palm of my hand and sprinkled it on. We had it today, a hot 90 degree day. I served it with Adrienne's Cucumber Salad (on site) using the first batch of fresh cucumbers from the back yard and sliced tomatoes. The rest of the Port wine was declicious over ice at the end of the meal with sliced apples, pears and cheese. Felt like I was on the Riviera - again a very simple, elegant meal - Oh yes, definitely have the french bread to sop up the juice!!! Thanks Marlies - looking forward to serving this to company!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: NYPD K9 COP
Turned out really good. Pork was still juicy and tender...I really loved the mediterranean touch of that meal and those wonderful spices!!
 
28 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: SUNBIRD
Turned out really good. Pork was still juicy and tender...I really loved the mediterranean touch of that meal and those wonderful spices!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: RogueOnion8
The flavor of the pork was wonderful. I served it over white rice and had steamed brocolli as the side dish. I used dried parsley instead of cilantro (since I hate cilantro... I know I'm crazy). I also used Vermouth instead or Port Wine. The steamed white rice didn't go very well with this dish as the marinade / sauce was very strong. Next time I will add the marinade / sauce to the pork while it is cooking and simmer it down. This should thicken the marinade / sauce considerably and give the pork even more flavor. I will also serve the pork inside of pita bread with tzatziki sauce. As the brocolli didn't fit well either, next time I will use red potatoes as the side dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Momof2
This is very similar to Thai Pork (on this site). I did like this recipe, although I did change a thing or two. I cut the pork in thin pieces instead of bite-sized. I also forgot to add the cayenne (didn't matter much) and it tasted really great. I love the red wine vinegar flavor. It is just the right amount. I did add some mushrooms and a bit of green onion to color it up a bit. I will definately be making this one again. Thanks for posting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: LynnInHK
I give it a four because although the sauce is a very nice blend of flavor, I had to make some changes to intensify the taste of it in the pork. First, I cooked the pork with the garlic and cilantro until it's half done. Then, after taking the pork out of the skillet, I poured in the sauce, and reduced it until thick. I then tossed the pork in the sauce and cooked it through. We ate the pork wrapped in lettuce leaves and the texture complimented each other well. It's a five after the modifications.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Aspiring Chef Rita
So simple and delicious! Didn't change a thing except I poured out the little remaining oil in the pan and added just a little of the oil, red vinegar and port to the hot pan to deglaze it and poured it over the pork - couldn't let the taste of the browning go to waste! Then added the remainder of the whisked ingrediants to the pork. The minced garlic over the meat is a must. I didn't have fresh cilantro, so used a tsp. of dried, crushed it in the palm of my hand and sprinkled it on. We had it today, a hot 90 degree day. I served it with Adrienne's Cucumber Salad (on site) using the first batch of fresh cucumbers from the back yard and sliced tomatoes. The rest of the Port wine was declicious over ice at the end of the meal with sliced apples, pears and cheese. Felt like I was on the Riviera - again a very simple, elegant meal - Oh yes, definitely have the french bread to sop up the juice!!! Thanks Marlies - looking forward to serving this to company!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes