My Reviews (608)

Barbecued Whitefish with Fruit Salsa

This is a very simple recipe to prepare despite the long list of ingredients - you can even make the salsa a day ahead. For a real treat substitute strawberries for mango!
Reviews (608)


21 May 2008
Reviewed by: sylviana
My family loved this! I didn't make enough. My huband ate 2nd and wanted more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Erin
Wow. We LOVE this recipe. Not only is it fabulous and beautiful when done fully as the recipe states, but just the fish in the marinade (without the mango salsa) is the best marinade I've ever had for a fish! So we now have tilapia with just the marinade part of this recipe weekly, and add the mango salsa in on special occasions and for guests . We don't break out the grill very often so I use the oven recipe that some other reviewer posted: put 4 tilapias in a 13x9 pan (altering the ingredients accordingly), place all the marinade on top, bake in the oven covered for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. Then uncover and bake at 375 for ten minutes. I serve the fish on top of a bed of rice and spinach. When i serve the fish I pour some of the marinade on top from the 13x9 pan which then adds a little extra flavor to the fish and acts as dressing for the spinach and rice. So yummy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Damon Stubbs
Absolutely fantastic! I can't begin to tell you what a hit this was. I don't like fish, but this really was the best combination of flavors in my mouth. I didn't grill the fish (live in Minnesota) so I put the fish under the broiler 3-4 minutes per side. The mango salsa is what makes this dish. The combination of sweet and hot and peppery was out of this world. If you're having fish tonight, this is a must!! Thanks for posting Witzken!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Rushlove
Awesome! As soon as my husband took a bite, he proclaimed that this is a 5 star recipe. Very easy to make. I followed the directions exactly as written. Personally I don't care for fish, however even I have to admit this recipe is fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: smarie07
Party in my mouth!! I followed the recipe except I didnt add jalepeno, because the ones I had were TOO hot. I baked @ 350 covered for 15 minutes, then uncovered for about 10 minutes. Will def make over and over again. The mango salsa was very different, but so delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Linda in Texas
I'm one of those people that has always sworn by the rule that meat and fruit do not belong together in the same dish. You would not catch me eating pineapple on my pizza...but this recipe made me change my mind!! I took a chance, gave it a try and loved it. My husband loved it too. Just the right balance of salty and sweet, sour and hot. A taste explosion! Also, it fits on the Weight Watchers plan without any problems. The nutritional information on this recipe is all wrong unless you plan on consuming all of that oil left in the bag when you take the fish out of the marinade. I reduced the oil in the marinade to 2 tbsp and added a little water. 3 oz of tilapia (2 points), 1 point for the oil absorbed into the fish, and 1 point for 1/2 cup of the mango salsa = 4 points...yummmmm
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: LouHoo in VA
this has become one of our favorite Summer-time Tilapia recipes. However, I do simplify it quite a bit! Instead of all the marinade ingredients, I simply marinate Four 6oz. tilapia filets in zesty Italian salad dressing for 10-15 minutes, then bake them with the dressing coating for 8 minutes per side at 350. (MUCH easier!) ~ I also cheat a little on the Mango Salsa -- I don't like handling jalepeno peppers, so I used a 4oz. can of chopped green chiles & 1/8 t. of cayenne pepper! (same effect!). NOTE: The salsa REALLY needs to sit overnight to let the flavors blend! ~ Oh--one more thing: if you don't already know how, Google the proper way to dice a mango & it will make your life a lot easier! (Slice from top to bottom down each side of the hard center core; then dice each half (NOT all the way through the skin) and spread it backwards (like a wide open palm of your hand) and the little cubes just pop off! ~ So, Witzken, thanks for the recipe -- we enjoyed it 4-5 times this past Summer & will have it again occasionally during the Winter for a little tropical break!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2011
Reviewed by: KDDinCLE
This was soooo good! Marinating the fish for as long as possible helps and I like how the flavors work together. I served with jasmine rice and some steamed zucchini. The sauces from the fish and salsa mesh well and were good mixed in with the rice. The salsa is delicious, but I would definitely add 1 or 2 more jalepenos for my taste. Also, I baked the fish in foil with the sauce over it for about 20 minutes at 350 and it turned out perfect. The moisture stayed locked in and it cooked well. I'll definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: dmsisson
One of my favorite fish dishes to make! I actually use peaches vs mango and like the switch. This went along nicely with "Quinoa and Black Beans" side dish on here as well as the "Green Bean Bundles" recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Elvira Silva
Simply delicious! Healthy, filling, easy to prepare, what else could you ask for?! I served this with coconut rice(recipe also from this site) and it was a match made in heaven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes