My Reviews (608)

Barbecued Whitefish with Fruit Salsa

This is a very simple recipe to prepare despite the long list of ingredients - you can even make the salsa a day ahead. For a real treat substitute strawberries for mango!
Reviews (608)


09 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: JSB
This was delicous! I started marinading the fish just a couple hours ahead of time. Then I put the two fillets in a 9x9 pan, drizzled most of the marinade over the top, and then baked it in the oven (covered) at 350 for 15 minutes, and then I uncovered it and baked it at 375 until it was done (probably another 10 minutes, I didn't set the timer). The salsa is great, too. It really makes enough for about 4+ fillets, but I enjoyed the leftovers with chips, so I don't know that I would ever cut the salsa recipe in half. I paired this with some coconut rice and asparagus. I'll definately make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: JerrysHoney
Great Recipe! I was in a hurry so I pulled out my George Foreman. I set the temp @ 300 & grilled the Tilapia Fillets for 9 minutes. They turned out great! The Mango Salsa adds just the right touch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2008
Reviewed by: Anita S.
Yummy! A little messy but worth it. I used JDPOP's advice and accompanied this with the Herbed Rice and Black Beans. Great meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: nyangel1203
This made for a light refreshing dinner. I did add extra jalapeno. I served with herbed rice and steamed asparagus. I almost didn't make it when I saw the calorie and fat content. This must be a typo. A 6oz piece of talipia has roughly 140 calories. The mango has roughly 110 for 1 cup which is what my mango chopped up came out to. That is of course divided into for 2 people. The olive oil is high caloric and fat, but it is in the marinade. Most stays behind in the bag. The calories in the rest of the ingredients is small. Nutrition facts on the website need to be more accurate. Great dish. Thanks for posting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ILoveFruit
Very easy and very tasty! My husband and I both cleared our plates. I rested the tilapia on a bed of long grain rice that was salted, peppered, with a splash of lemon. I can't wait to make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
AWESOME Taste! But beware, I used a charcoal grill and my marinated fish caused the charcoal to flame up more than once! I only used the ingredients listed to grill, so be careful. To prevent this fragile fish from falling apart while grilling, I marinated it frozen for 40 minutes. As far as the salsa, I only left out the jalapeno. This was because I served the stuffed jalapeno bacon wrap recipe as a side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: GUYCHEF
This is very good and I personally prefer to make the salsa a day ahead of time to let the flavors merge.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Maggie
Excellent recipe, made it with strawberries. My family loved it. Will definitely serve this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Aidenj2
I actually made this recipe on a camping trip over a fire - that's how easy it is. My husband and I loved it. This was the first time we tried mango salsa. Excellent meal as is - made no changes. The only thing that would make this recipe easier is a mango slicer. I will be making this dish a lot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Naomi Witzke
I am the submitter of this recipe. As many people have noticed, this recipe makes more salsa than you need for 2 servings. I like the extra salsa for snacking on, but in retrospect I would rewrite the amounts here. This recipe makes enough tilapia for 2 people but enough salsa for 4. You can keep it like it is if you like extra salsa, or just make half the amount of salsa for the 2 fillets. Sorry about that!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes